Spirit Animals, American Friends, and Tokyo Magic

in #japan6 years ago (edited)

28A098D5-F100-4A05-B289-E02C6B969028.jpeg


In the process of doing my “man on the street” interviews for Voluntary Japan, I was able to capture some neat little scenes around Sensō-ji Temple, and also to encounter...an owl! A cool, young owl who was a bit shy, but who finally looked toward me with a wonderfully fierce deadpan as I snapped my picture.


97AD7759-8D92-4323-97AB-A483ADF7AFF5.jpeg


The twin Buddhas pictured above symbolize wisdom and mercy. Two elements that must act together...that really are two sides of the same enlightened coin, it would seem.


F61D2AF2-ABD3-4D7B-8E94-F9212060ED27.jpeg


Sensō-ji was flooded with folks on holiday, from all over the world. It was a great spot for doing interviews (video coming soon). I lit my incense, said my prayers, and then went around asking folks four questions about human nature. I found the answers to be intriguing from a Voluntaryist perspective.


274FC774-0867-4199-ADC4-83631424FB2D.jpeg


After my interviews I met up with some friends from the states. I dragged them along to the Tokyo Bitcoin Cash meetup at Nem Bar, and we all had a pretty good time.

08AE9A3F-6B54-4611-ADA4-51EC8B477667.jpeg

Now it’s off to do some business, and interview the CEO of ALIS (the “steemit of Japan”) and some core team members this evening!

Thanks for coming along! Stay tuned!

~*~

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DLive and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Great pictures...looks like you had a lovely and tranquil day. Looking forward to your interviews :)

Seeing an owl in the middle of the town was so cool!

Looking forward to the video!

Everybody is aware with japanese respectful mentality, perhaps the owl were doing the same in respect of you.😉
What you feel talking with japanese voluntaries?
@kafkanarchy84

Great job mate. Making new friends increase your vision and well done dragging then to the BTC Meetup.
This way that will get knowledge about crypto currency and stuff.
These are some amazing pictures you have captured brother. Cheers

Was the owl just there in the middle of the city in the middle of the day, or was it a pet or something? I can't see if it's on a chain or something…

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63182.56
ETH 3083.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83