Sort:  

I’ve always liked stories like these, about gods disguised as beggars who approach typical people looking for help. I don’t know why, but I hadn’t realized that this was another one of those stories until I read your comment. Thanks!

Thanks for sharing your adaptation. I was surprised to learn that the band The Decemberists have an album called “The Crane Wife” that was inspired by this story.

Was that album inspired by this story? I didn’t realize that.

I never owned that album, but it was a big part of my environment in my mid-20s. For a long time, many of the cars I rode in and bars I drank in played that album. I’ll have to listen to it again.

Sometimes strange details and connections like this really make me feel like my life is going in circles;-)

The album was very definitely inspired by this folk tale, with subtle differences (the man pulls an arrow from the crane's wing). You have to give it another listen with Requital of a Crane in mind.

I will. Thanks!

I finally got around to listening to Crane Wife. What a strange cleections if memories and sensations it brought back. I was in a dark place when that album came out and I didn’t care for it at the time much because of its melancholy tone, but it’s really quite beautiful. And, yes, keeping this story in mind while listening to it brought both the song and this story more to life. I guess there is another variation of this story that the Crane Wife is based on. That’s according to Wikipedia though: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tsuru_no_Ongaeshi

Glad you revisited it. It is a beautiful album.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89