A month of Java and What Did I learn

in #java5 years ago

ai-blur-codes-577585.jpg
Image courtesy of pexels.com

It's been an amazing Javatober and my one month of learning Java has been pretty fruitful and I hope will leave me with the motivation to continue to learn and pursue Java as a development language. There was quite a few things I have learned from the experience though.

You Need To Know Where You Want To Go


Its as simple as knowing what you want to achieve. In my case I didn't really have a good idea of what I wanted to achieve by the end of the month. I had an idea that a month would be enough to know everything I needed to be productive and it would all simple move on from there. My plan was to simply read documentation and try things out as I went. It wasn't really the answer and not a good idea to keep me learning for a month.

If You Don't Know Where To Go, Get Some Help


Well that's when I turned to CodeGym. I have put my journey in there hands and although I feel like it could possibly be taking me a lot longer than what I had hoped, I am continuously practicing as a result.

A Month Is Not Long Enough To Learn Java


I don't know, maybe everyone else might be thinking I was crazy to think I could get very far in one month, but the focus was intense and I am glad I did it. Because I support a lot of Java developers, I know there is still a lot of work I need to cover, including

Java Is All About Classes, Variables and Methods


One thing CodyGym has taught me is that Java is an endless cycle of classes, variables and methods. You need to know how they work, how the interact with each other and how you can limit access from other methods and classes. Each level I am going through expends on each of these subjects as you go.

Daily Posting Can Stop You From Learning


The goal was to post daily in the hope that it would reinforce everything I did learn for that day. It was a good idea and it did help but I think it may have got a bit boring for anyone reading. I was getting repetitive as the work I was doing was getting repetitive. I hope it was not too much internet pollution on Java. I think it did actually help with my learning though and got me to revise what I had learnt and allowed me to keep a set of notes online in the form of the blog post.

Onwards with my Java Skills and hopefully this is not the end.

If you have found this post useful or interesting, please consider Commenting, Upvoting, Following and/or Resteeming

Sort:  

Hello! Your post has been resteemed and upvoted by @ilovecoding because we love coding! Keep up good work! Consider upvoting this comment to support the @ilovecoding and increase your future rewards! ^_^ Steem On!

Reply !stop to disable the comment. Thanks!

Hi! Thanks for sharing your experience with Java. One month is definitely not enough for it, for any language actually, no matter how easy or hard they are.

Even though Java is very friendly and straight forward I comparison to other languages, it can take years until you can "master" it. There are always new things coming up in the new versions of java, and it's up to the developers to keep up with the changes.

I think it's interesting though to practice a new programming language in a month, not because you will learn a lot more but because you will have to deal with an environment you are not familiar with, and that pushes the boundaries of your learning and capabilities ad developer. Make it a habit 😉.

Posted using Partiko Android

You're definitely right @javierjmc. I was a little naive to think I would be a lot more advanced by the end of the month. It has made it into a good habit of learning though and hope I can continue over the coming months.
Regards @run.vince.run

A habit you can make is to learn a new language every year.

Moreover, learn key concepts. Once you know one or two languages it will be a matter of syntax. There are of course languages with certain properties than don't exist in others but in general, if you have a good foundation in software development then picking a new language is not that hard.

Cheers!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by run.vince.run from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22