From Near Death To A Renewed Life & Spiritual AwakeningsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #jerrybanfield6 years ago (edited)

Do you know your purpose in this life?

First off I'd like to thank @jerrybanfield for initiating this wonderful contest and giving me an opportunity to share my peculiar story, and I'd also like to thank @gmichelbkk in advance for taking the time to read and share this story.

Hello everyone, I'm @Dalayahu and this is my SWC story.

It all started in 2010 and I was working at this job as a skycap at Miami International Airport. I liked it because I got to meet new people everyday and I did well making tips from helping them. For the most part everything was good, I loved my job and I loved my life.

It was the perfect job for a 22 year old kid in Miami, I made good money, and I had a lot of fun.


(

Then around October 2010, one day I heard that one of my elder co-workers was in the hospital and he had just had a major surgery and he was still in the hospital recovering. So me and a couple of my other coworkers decided to go to the hospital and visit him on our day off.

There we we're at the hospital visiting our dear friend who was recovering from a major organ transplant. At some point not long after we had been there, this weird feeling overcame me where I start to feel real dizzy and lightheaded. The feeling was so strong that I felt that I needed to sit down, so I did and there was only one chair in the room. I sat down for a minute but I didn't feel too much better and then someone came in the room and asked for the chair because they needed it.


Now I'm standing on my feet again and I'm feeling super light-headed, it seemed as if there was this weird smell in the room, sort of like a hospital smell and a blood/surgery smell. I felt like I couldn't take it anymore and I felt like I needed to walk outside to get some air. I tried to walk out of the door....

Black.jpg

That was all I remembered...seeing black. It seemed like I was there forever, it felt like I was dead. I don't know how long I was there but I remember feeling that I was dead.

Imagine my surprise as I wake up in a hospital hallway on the ground bleeding from my skull, with all type of hospital staff running to me by this point, asking me, am I alright?! They brought me a wheelchair, sat me in it and immediately began to try to stop the bleeding. They kept asking me was I alright, I thought that I was (besides the bleeding), until I realized that the bleeding was coming from a huge gash in my forehead, not to mention that my lip was bust and one of my front teeth had been knocked loose and bent in toward my mouth. I came to realize that I had passed out and fell face first into a hospital bed that was in the hallway and hit my face right in the middle, on the metal arm rail of the bed. It almost killed me. What seemed worse was that I couldn't even recall walking out of the door.

All the medical staff of doctors and nurses around me continued to ask me a barrage of questions.

Did I have any disease or sickness?
Was I on any medicine?
Did I eat?
Was there a family history of this or that?

The questions continued as they took me down to the ER for immediate surgery. The whole way there I was overcome by this overwhelming feeling that I had just got a second chance at life. I felt lucky to be alive...It was like I woke up and it was part 2 or something. I was just sitting there in disbelief, thinking to myself did this really just happen?

I couldn't believe it. I was healthy and in perfect shape, I didn't have any sickness or illness, it was a regular day. It wasn't a regular day anymore though, I had just came to the hospital as a visitor and was about to leave as a patient.
First I had to go through about 3 hours of surgery, where I got stitches in my forehead, my lip, and the worst ones were the ones on my gums and teeth in my mouth.

They ended up putting a splint on my dislocated front tooth. I could feel everything. My first time ever passing out and I almost split my head open... absolutely one of the craziest days of my life.

This is me at the dentist to get the splint removed about a month later after the stitches had healed

To me this is certainly a story of a NDE because it's as close as I've ever been to death. It's interesting to me because being a young black male from the inner city, I've seen people have near death experiences, like being shot with a gun or someone being shot at, but bleeding out of my head in a hospital hallway was a new one for me.


As near death experiences go, often times after this happened I found myself thinking about my purpose in life. I felt more grateful now that I had been given a second chance at life, it seemed like I was at the beginning of a new story. Ironically enough, about a month later, around the end of 2010, I ended up loosing that job. That lead me to a process of self searching and personal development. As fate would have it I spoke to my aunt around that time, who is a christian evangelist, obviously she directed me to church. She told me that I need to get myself right with the most high. I think that was what I needed to hear. "Going to church" turned out to be the beginning of my lifelong journey to seek "The Most High" often referred to as "The Lord" or "God".

After continuing to studying his word I eventually grew in understanding and began to embrace the hebrew roots of the culture. As a matter of fact for the last 7 years I've been guarding his commands including honoring his name, keeping shabbat, and even the important annual set apart days like passover and the day of atonement. I've also come to learn that his name is Yahuah Alahym and he is the creator of the universe.

So in summary, me having this damaging and traumatic near death experience was the beginning of my lifelong journey to study the hebrew history of the bible, as well as to seek and serve the creator of the universe Yahuah .

Thank you all for reading and please be sure to leave a comment and tell me if you've ever passed out before, I'd love to hear about it.

Shalum/Peace,

@Dalayahu

Sort:  

Congratulations @dalayahu! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dalayahu! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56