Was it a nightmare or did djinnis pay me a visit? Entry for SWC by @jerrybanfield

I'm writing this post as a response to the Supernatural Writing Contest organized by @jerrybanfield

Hi everyone! I want to ask you some personal questions first. Do you remember your dreams when you wake up? Do you take them serious? Do these dreams affect your life or how you think? Have you ever had the feeling that some incomprehensible things are also in the game when you are dreaming?

Enough bla bla. I want to keep it short and bring you directly to the main subject. I find it kinda hard to talk (and now write) about this thing happened to me many year ago but I do want to spit it out at the same time. Now we are flashing back to year 1999, to my childhood.

yesil.jpg
source

I was nine. It was Ramadan. My parents were waking up at around 3 a.m for sahur, which means pre-dawn meal. Muslims have this meal early in the morning as a preparation for fasting. I wasn't allowed to fast because my parents thought that I was not old enough for that. I was furious because it was something special for a kid of my age to wake up at that hour and eat something with the parents. One night I woke up and heard my parents and siblings eating and laughing in the living room. I'm sure you can understand how I felt at that very moment. I stormed into the living room and sat down to eat with the sulkiest face I put on. We ate and went to bed. I jumped into my bed without knowing that a horrible nightmare, which I will never manage to forget for the rest of my life, was waiting for me.

I've always been a person who dreams a lot and most of them are actually nightmares. My subconscious has always liked playing games with me anytime I'm loaded with intense emotions. If I miss my mother, I see her dead in my dreams. If I miss my brother, somebody slits his throat and gives his corpse to me. Nightmares were a part of my life even when I was a kid. I can say that I was even accustomed to them till that Ramadan night. That night was different ...

After I went to sleep that night, I dreamt of a gloomy Monday morning. I was busy packing and making myself ready for school with my sister, who is only two years younger than me. I was thirsty and asked her if she can fetch me a glass of water. She said no and at that very moment (oh yeah I start to get goosebumps all over my body again) I saw this hand appearing out of nowhere behind the TV cabinet and handing me over a weird-shaped pitcher thanks to the stretchy arm, which can travel five to six meters.

I woke up.

I woke up but the nightmare didn't really come to an end. I was shining. I know it sounds crazy and you probably think that it was part of my nightmare and I wasn't really awake but I'm sure I was awake. This green bright light was covering my whole body. I was shocked of course but after a few seconds I started rubbing my eyes. I did it maybe four or five times hoping that the green light would disappear but it didn't. Finally I decided to hide myself under my blanket because I thought my sister would start screaming or simply go crazy if she saw me like this. I was scared but I also liked the warmth of this green light. I remembered having touched my fingers one by one and going to sleep again at some point.

It was really weird. I can never forget that nightmare and the green light covering my whole body. I told my parents about that nightmare and what happened afterwards. My father started laughing but my mother was anxious. After that night a peaceful sleep became an inaccessible dream for me. I was sharing a room with my sister but her presence was not enough. I needed my mother next to me. She was ok with it in the beginning but at that time she of course didn't know that I would have these problems with sleeping till I turn seventeen. She slept next to me some nights and was angry with me afterwards. I had to find a solution to my problems by myself. An army of pillows and teddy bears protected me from weird pitchers for the next eight years :)

Years later my mother told me that she actually had contacted my grandfather concerning my sleeping problems. I wanted to know everything my grandfather told her because I needed an explanation for the green light covering my whole body. Although I gave my best to persuade myself that it was nothing more than a hallucination, I was not successful. My grandfather loved reading and had many books. One of the books he had, it's called the Book of Stars (Yıldızname), is still known by some people in Turkey. As far as I know this book can be used by someone, who knows how to read its instructions and make some calculations with the stars, to give people information about their current situations and emotions. There are hundreds of charlatans in Turkey nowadays who claim that they have mastered as a medium and can help you with your lives and problems thanks to their psychic abilities and the Book of Stars. My grandfather was of course not one of them. He kept this book out of interest and was busy with it sometimes. My mother told me that she explained him my situation and afterwards he made some calculations and he tried to find an explanation for my sleeping problems by consulting this book. He told my mother that djinnis visited me during my sleep that night and left me with these sleeping problems. He wanted to see me (he probably wanted to prepare an amulet with some prayers in it for me) but as far as I know my father never agreed.

I forgot neither the pitcher nor the green light but at least they are not terrorizing my sleep anymore.

So my dear Steemians ...

Do you think that it was simply a kid's hallucination?

Have a nice day!

Thanks to @jerrybanfield for this contest!

Sort:  

Thank you very much @nesibe.yildiz for writing this story and submitting it to SWC. I sent 10 STEEM directly to your account for your participation in the contest.

Congratulations @nesibe.yildiz! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nesibe.yildiz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67