An unexplored mystery (SWC)

in #jerrybanfield6 years ago

I am the kind of guy who doesn't trust in ghosts and any kind of superstitions but I have experienced this strange event that makes me believe that some things are better left unexplored. This is a true story that was happened in my life.


Image source

5 years ago, when I was pursuing my diploma, I used to live in a small town and I had to travel by train for 2 hours to go to college. I used to wakeup at 4 a.m. in the morning and had to leave home by 5 o'clock and had to catch the train at 5:10 a.m. daily. At this time of cold environment, empty streets grab blanket of darkness. From home to railway station, I used be always in rush, walking blindly in the dark. You are lucky if you see a street light in small towns. Walking on these streets you have company of the sound of your own footsteps.

After a walking distance of 5 minutes, you see a little light and that's because there's a hospital. But you can't take a breath of relief because you have to face few barking dogs. I used to calm them down somehow. Now, there's 2 paths to reach railway station. One is shortcut, that is by crossing the hospital and the other is by roaming all the way around the hospital then to the market and then railway station. Obviously, I used to take shortcut but for that you have to climb hospital's compound wall. After completing this task you walk beside the wall of hospital for 2 minutes until you reach another compound wall. Between these two compound walls, you get your forehead flooded with sweat and your heart beats faster than usual. But in my case, this is nothing to me because I don't believe in ghosts and all. People get scared because there's a rumour that a nurse has been buried in that place, who used to work in that hospital. I don't know if it is true or not. I don't want to know.

One day, as usual I left home around 5 a.m. and walked 5 minutes distance in darkness, calmed the barking dogs near the hospital and climbed on the first compound wall of the hospital which is at the back side of the hospital. While jumping off that wall my hand slipped and the next moment I was lying on the ground with backpack moved over my head.

"Damn it", I said to myself as I got up and adjusted my backpack and started walking with unusual walk. I was hurt but I couldn't see that because street light was little far from me. So, I went under the street light which was inside the hospital area, to look if I am injured. By the time I reached there, my pants had got stain of blood near my knee and my palms were scratchy. I was already in rush and this injury made me more panic and stressful.

"Are you ok?" I heard these words and turned around to see who was that but nobody was there. Silence... My curious eyes became suddenly wider and my heart raced to reach double heartbeat rate than normal.

"Come here, apply the band-aid if you are injured", I heard that voice again. But this time, I knew it was coming from a small cabin near that hospital. It was a lady's voice. I relaxed and went to the door of the cabin to thank her and tell her that I'm okay and I am in hurry and have to go. I looked inside the cabin but again, there was nobody. Nothing looked clear to describe how it was inside. Little light from the street lamp entered from the door and all I could see was a chair near the desk. "Come on in", said a nurse standing behind me. As I turned around, before I say anything she grabbed my shoulder with one hand and holding the first-aid-material in other. She asked me to sit on the chair and applied band-aid on my knee real quick. While doing this, my mind was counting the minutes left to catch the train and my eyes were looking at my phone screen to see the time after every 5 seconds.

"Where are you going this early?" She asked curiously.

"College", I said. After a pause I said, "actually I have to go to city because here we don't have diploma college".

"You could have broke your leg today".

"Yeah", I gave her a confused stare as I wondered how does she know when I fell down behind the hospital and her cabin was in front.

"Be careful", she finished her formalities.

"Your name?" I asked while grabbing my backpack and walking away from her.

"Ms. Ruby"

"Thank you so much", I said as I walked out of the cabin and reached to the second compound wall of the hospital and passed over it. After that I couldn't hear what she said as I started running with my injured knee because I had to catch the train.

In the evening, when coming back to home I decided to meet her again because in the morning I was in hurry and couldn't thank her properly. As I went to that cabin I saw a man sitting on the chair. I asked, "Where is Ms. Ruby ?" "Who Ms. Ruby? " he questioned back.
"The one who was here at 5 o'clock in the morning ".

"Nobody works here in this cabin, especially at night", he said casually. "All night shifters work in hospital, nobody comes here in cabin. This cabin is for documentation only", he clarified. I thought she might be in the hospital. So, I inquired there too. And guess what ? Everybody said there's nobody in the hospital staff with the name Ms. Ruby.

I got shocked. I wanted to see her again. Next morning I went there and saw that cabin was locked. How can it be possible? Is she on leave? I went there daily a whole week but cabin was always locked. On weekend, I went there again to ask about her but I got the same response. Some staffs got annoyed because they thought I was kidding. One of the old staff came to me and asked me about why I was going there daily. I told her everything. She told me this has been happened to many people. You are not alone.

That day, I got high fever and I got ill. From then onwards, I never use that shortcut road. I got to know things that I never knew before. I heard many stories about the same hospital and the nurse who was buried there but I never dare to ask the name of that buried nurse.

Supernatural Writing Contest

Sort:  

i'm not big on the supernatural or paranormal myself either. But I always enjoy a good ghost story. In a couple small towns over there is an abandoned mortuary. I've been told it is haunted but never believed. Some day I would like to go explore it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by pratique007 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62