Why Does Jesus Matter, Anyway?

in #jesus6 years ago

Christ chakra.jpg
Image courtesy of geoglyphiks.com(prints available)

Note: the following was written prior to my in-depth encounter with the account of Jesus in Part 4 of the Urantia Book. Though hard to quantify, I will make use of hyperbole and declare that my love and appreciation, my loyalty and devotion to the living person of Jesus has increased a zillion-fold since finding the details contained therein. And I thought my understanding of him before that was utterly life-changing....

Originally posted December 15, 2015

Recently, the small group I’m a member of had, as it’s focus, the question, “Why does Jesus matter to me?” As I was preparing my answer, I kept two audiences in mind: the first are those that know Him, and would resonate with anything I shared about Him, and the second are those who are skeptical, anti-Christ, or equate Christ with similar other prophets and holy men.

What’s the big deal with Jesus, anyway?

As I listen to online recordings of “light seekers” who call into various New Age, Ascension, and channeling talk shows, I get glimpses of their spiritual journeys based on their questions and dilemmas. Not yet have I heard one mention Jesus Christ. Oh, actually, there was one, sort of - the talk show guest being interviewed who laughed a bit self-consciously when she admitted that the “Christ Consciousness” was actually quite important to her, alongside Mary Magdalene and her dead grandfather (I actually respect this woman a lot, so don’t take my tone to be derisive).

To most of these spiritual ascenders, Jesus is not important enough to enter into the discussion of their spiritual growth.

But I hear much about growing into love, seeking light, peace, saying “no” to fear, and turning away from oppression and negativity. It just doesn’t have a Name.

I am getting a fuller picture of how people who have grown up in Christendom will, and do, clash with these other spiritual journeyers. Traditionally, seeking teaching, healing, or other help from spirit guides, other evolutionary ascending beings (ETs), ancestors, and/or your inner self is considered by Christians to be idolatrous. The reasoning goes: "Jesus sent his Holy Spirit to lead us into all truth; to convict us of sin, and lead us to wholeness. We are to be growing toward Him, into a love relationship with Him, not giving these other spirits/entities our time and attention. Replacing Jesus with others is not acknowledging Him as Lord, as Sovereign in the Universe. The Biblical understanding of 'Jesus is the (only) way' is being deconstructed with every new claim of spiritual growth gained independent of Him."

Rather than attempt to directly respond to this reasoning, I will simply attempt to answer the original question, as I encourage you to, too.

So, why does Jesus matter to me? All I can think of to answer is just so cliché and obvious. Jesus is everything; He’s All in All; He is the Beginning and the End. He delivers me from evil and selfish desires, humbles me as a servant but calls me Friend. He healed me, taught me, leads me into all truth. Jesus matters to me because He was the one I took refuge in when my heart was broken as a tween, desperate for a Father’s love, needing unconditional love, and learning to know Jesus as the way to that love.

I struggle with the clichés because if I’m addressing an audience who doesn’t know Jesus and I’m trying to demonstrate his work in my life in a specific story to illustrate the claims, I come up short in the moment. Though, one way I came up with little while ago, was a reply to comments on an atheist’s website. I simply asked that he validate my personal experience of gaining love, joy, peace, patience, goodness, gentleness, and self-control as a result of knowing who I call, “God.” Not that I really expected him to convert or anything, as if that were irrefutable evidence that God exists, but I was trying to demonstrate that measurable changes DO happen to people who accept God’s love and love in return. So, for fellow disciples of Jesus, it’s not news that it’s about finding God’s personal love through Christ’s Spirit living in me - finding acceptance, belonging, and peace in my inmost being. Jesus says, “no one comes to the Father but through me.”

So you see, for the sake of the unconvinced, I’m wanting my answer to have some substance beyond just saying “Jesus is everything.” But maybe making audacious and general statements is really all that’s needed.

He is life. He is love. He is my hope. He is Truth. He is my strength. He is healing. He is my companion. He is personal. He is Holy. He is Peace. He is forgiveness and mercy. He is Son of eternal Source, who gives me a way to God.

My Jesus, I love Thee, I know Thou are mine.

My Jesus, my Savior, Lord there is none like you.

Jesus, Jesus, how I trust him, how I’ve proved him o’er and o’er.

Where else can I go? You have the words of eternal life.

Could I get to the same place morally and spiritually without knowing who He is, what He teaches, or accepting His forgiveness for my sin? Since I’m on this side of knowing Him and his teachings and love for me, I can’t rewind to answer that.

I could try to compare my experience with that of someone who doesn’t know him, hasn’t personally experienced His love; but because I have limited experience with those who follow a “Jesus-less” mix of spirituality, I can’t determine how well that “works” for them. I define “working” as knowing more of God’s love for you, loving God, and loving others as yourself. Being more like God. Can that happen apart from someone deciding to be Jesus’ disciple?

Ultimately, the Bible declares that “every knee shall bow and every tongue confess that Jesus is Lord.” Some just may not do that this side of eternity. Here’s my point, though: If that is true, and Jesus is Love and Life, and people are seeking Love and Life, they will eventually acknowledge Jesus.

Like directions to a mega-store on the outskirts of a small town, “ya can’t miss it(wink)....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62