The Superlative Jet

in #jetplane7 years ago (edited)

I like high-tech hardware in general. But I'm not normally a fan of military stuff for a variety of reasons. But last year I stumbled across a remarkably unique jet plain in the parking lot of a museum in my own home town. This is one of the fastest jet airplanes in the world. The A12: titanium skin, mach 3, custom fuel, top-secret for decades. Flew so high, the pilot had to wear a space suit. It is so large, I had a hard time fitting it into the frame:

IMG_20161022_094653.jpg

This next picture has an extra-fun bonus: in the background is one of the previous-fastest jets, the F-104 StarFighter, which was also designed by the same company, Lockheed.

IMG_20161022_095108.jpg

I read about these planes last year, as documented in my previous post https://steemit.com/reading/@markhu/2016-reading-list-partial-stack

Further reading: http://www.migflug.com/jetflights/a-12_oxcart-vs-sr-71_blackbird.html

Sort:  

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @markhu. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @markhu to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Wow that thing is insane. Wonder how much a jet like that costs :P

Talk soon.

I am Cornholio! You will co-operate with my bunghole!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64