About looking for a job in IT

in #job6 years ago

Each of us was started the first job. Everyone had a different beginning and a different path in life. Some had more and others less fortunate. But everyone started or will start their first job in their industry.
Some of us start working immediately after high school, others in college or just after them. Still others, like me, choose a completely different profession than they studied and try to find their first job.

Well, but how ....?


Exactly. How to start working in an industry in which you do not have experience, too many contacts, and you do not know if your skills are good enough. There are many unknowns here. In my case, it also happens that I live abroad and look for a job in a foreign language what is one more obstacle. As you can see, it is not easy ...
praca1.jpg
Recently, I have already written about contacts. Making industry contacts face to face is always a good idea. That's why I have already mentioned Meetups where we can get such contacts. But I would like to focus on something else now. Namely...

Job offers, internships, and apprenticeships.


Since I am at the beginning of my path with IT, why should I immediately start looking for job offers for a junior developer or someone like that? I decided that it would be best to find an internship or apprenticeships for me. That is why I started applying for a position of an apprentice to many companies which I am interested in. Well, so how is? After all, I'm 27 and want to start like a 16-year-old?
Of course. I believe that it is better to get real experience in the company for small salary or even for free than to sit at home and learn to code after working hours when there is not always strength to do that.
it.png
Earlier I had doubts about it but after a few weeks, I found it the best way to go. In some advertisements, however, there are entries that these offers are for 16-24-year-olds. But I've heard from a few people that companies do not stick to it and I should go ahead and write everywhere I want.

So I'm doing it.


The third step is to write some nice emails to the companies we are interested in. Even if they are not currently looking for anyone for the lowest positions (meaning those that interest me). In the email, we can introduce ourselves nicely, say what we do, what we learn, and ask what we could do or learn to be a good material for a junior or apprentice in a given company. Simple. Very simple, but so few people do it. I will send such emails soon.

Of course, it can be complex with a response, but then you have to catch the phone and ask for details, why they do not even respond to you. Or maybe as you show that you care about your future and work, however, someone will invite us for a job interview or internship. Such a possibility also exists.
praca3.jpg

If you are from Edinburgh or the surrounding area and you know about an IT company that is looking for a trainee or apprentice then please contact me. I recommend myself!


What methods do you have for finding a job? How did you get the first or most important job?
Let me know in the comments and stick to it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61369.52
ETH 2929.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66