PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS #1: Does your job truly make you happy?

in #job6 years ago (edited)

Happiness is relative. We all have our own ways and means to be happy. As for me, I have a clear vision of what could satisfy my weary soul. Some of which includes: travel the world, experience new things in the most unimaginable places, meet new people, experience different culture and traditions, pursue my passion for writing.

I am always in a state of euphoria every time I go to unfamiliar places, or get lost in a sea of strangers yet enjoy the solitude and the unfamiliarity of it all. The cravings of my discerning palate get its satisfaction from exotic cuisines which do not just fill my stomach but also my dried up soul. The joy I get every time I talk to people, listen to their stories and also share mine, experience their culture and tradition is positively enigmatic.  It's funny, how sometimes we are so certain of what we want, yet can't make them into a reality, simply because our time, resources, and sometimes the people around us hinder us from doing so.

I have a 7-5 job at the moment which is the biggest contributing factor of why I am under a lot of stress. Don't get me wrong, I am grateful for my job, and it gives me a different kind of fulfillment. But there are people whose wanderlust transcends their capacity to be confined in one place doing the same routine everyday of their lives. Needless to say, I am one of those few.  

The search for a means to earn without having to conform by the rules and standards set by those who are at the higher-ups never ceases. I know, it seems unlikely, since I am not born with a silver spoon, and I was raised to have a mind-set of an employee. But fortunately, I have found solace in Freelancing. As a freelancer, I can choose project-based jobs, work at my own pace, set my own (reasonable) price, and do the work anywhere, anytime. But, I can only devote very little time since I am still confined with my job.

Sadly, no matter how much you want something; there will always be  challenges along the way that will hinder you from pursuing what you want. In my case, my family. Almost everyone in the family is an educator, or is an employee both in public and private organizations. To them, it is a gamble to pursue endeavors which are not tied to employment. Hence, they would stop me from resigning from work to be a full time freelance writer and digital marketer.  

Freewill, this is something that we are blessed with. And though I have my own freewill, I cannot disregard my family’s opinion. Maybe it’s not time yet, maybe I have to endure this agony a little longer. But I will definitely continue doing what I love, maybe not on a full time basis, but from time to time.  

For now I am content at traveling here and there, whenever I have extra time; write something about my experience from these travels, and post it on my blog (previously in WordPress but now I'm a full-fledged Steemian).

I believe God makes everything beautiful in His time, so I will hold on to my faith. My pursuit of happiness continues, until I can finally say "I am truly happy with my job!" 

There is a famous quote from Confucius that says:

This is a quote that I want to live by. Maybe, someday...

May the odds be in my favour!

 If you liked this post, please upvote and resteem. Let me know in the comments what you think and feel free to ask questions. :)


Sort:  

Welcome to #steemit and #steemitachievers, you may edit this and add some photos just as #maverickinvictus mentioned in our gc.

I'll definitely follow your advice. Thank you so much #long888 :)

Welcome to steemit, maine! This is very nicely written, you will surely get the hang of steemit in time :D

Thank you so much #renalexis. This really means a lot! Hopefully I will, soon :)

Congratulations on your first post! What a post it is. Thank you for heeding the advise of humble me but it looks and feels better.

You love writing and it clearly shows as I can feel the emotions you placed as your wrote down your thoughts.

Do not be afraid to ask questions or help just ask me anything math or art based lol.

Be Awesome!

Love the quote by the way and is something I tell all my subordinates in HR as well.

Thank you Maverick. All of your support really means a lot, I mean it empowers me to do better and do more. I really hope to learn more and grow here, of course with the help of everyone from @steemitachievers. More power to us! ☺

Welcome to steemit. Glad you made your first post. Very talented. Following you

Thank you @fukumineko for introducing me to steemit. Im following you as well. Nice posts you have there! :)

I'm currently unemployed...but I don't want to do something I'm not passionate about. I guess many of us just need to do what we do, whether we like it or not.

Yes, I agree. Sometimes, we are left to have no choice but to do even the things we are not passionate about in order to survive. I guess timing is everything. Now may not be my time, but I am hopeful.

It's ok to be unemployed, you are on Steemit. :) I know you will shine here since I can see that you are supportive t0 others.

Keep doing what you love @jmvanbreda!

Thank you so much. You are very kind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66996.44
ETH 3098.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72