Skies and skylines

in #johannesburg5 years ago (edited)

jozi.jpg

Just in case people thought I live in a rural wilderness after all the nature pictures, this is the view to the West - downtown Johannesburg - a sight that I am rather fond of. If you saw the sci-fi film District 9or Avengers: Age of Ultron, this will look familiar. Although the Johannesburg CBD has an evil reputation, I lived there for many years and have fond memories of it, which is not to say that bad things never happened to me there, they certainly did.

This picture was shot in the late afternoon, on a day when it was threatening to rain but never did, from the ridge behind my house, a tiny little slice of public land that remains undeveloped and will not be built on. I feel very privileged to be able to live there and visit natural surroundings which are not in great condition from a conservation point of view yet the rocks are spectacular and nature carries on regardless.

Sort:  

I think that living in a slightly distant place, where nature is all around, is very cool!
And have a little land (the more the better :-))! )

Nice shot, the city looks like it's about to go to sleep.
You create your own paradise and jungle around you.

It's far from sleepy there and it is a jungle in more ways than one

yep! the view is great from there of course! :D

The view is everything!

Yes, your city looks like the city that was shown in this film.
Unfortunately, the press writes only negative information about your city. I think there is a lot of untruth.
Of course, in any city there are problems, but I think that they are not as serious as they are trying to present.

It's a crazy place. But it has always been so

Follow someone long enough and you get to learn a lot :-)

I am glad you find it educational :)

Dramatic sky with lots of foreboding and anticipation! Good shot of the atmosphere!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you. I liked the effect of the clouds, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67