The Dog House Update - Building The Bar

in #joinery5 years ago

In the last update I told you about installing the Doors and windows

1B23B9E1-4049-4BBC-88E7-B2A8E48BF604.jpeg

Wow!!
That seems like such a long time ago. But now it was time to build inside and most importantly it was time to build the bar.

I have been looking forward to this moment since we first had the idea. This had to be the main focal point and had to be right. With a lot of wood still left over from the inside walls, we had enough to cover the bar. All we needed was some more framing. A trip to a barn and a squeeze in the car, we had the wood and started mapping out where we wanted the bar.

54BADAB8-8CC0-4305-965D-B249C18429C2.jpeg

Framing done and happy with the size we started cladding the front and sides using the remaining wood from the walls.

6D2345DC-0ABF-47E7-A4A6-A03C61CF17F4.jpeg
80B28845-4A13-4091-9ABE-6560CBF4B101.jpeg

Now we just needed to top. After much debating about what and how to go about it we finally settled on a great find at our local diy store. Kitchen counter tops. Once again it was a squeeze into the car but we managed the 10 mile journey and back to The Dog House. This proved to be the hardest job so far.l and with some man cave like signs dotted around we now had the makings of a great bar.
FAE99781-FA6A-4D1C-9FDF-F44A5D4CE662.jpeg

I thought we would take a break at that point but my mate wanted to keep going( think he sees the light at the end of the tunnel) and lay flooring. We had decorated the rear wall with stone look wallpaper so we need something that went well with that. Settling for a cord grey carpet and installing lights and beer pumps into the bar, we had finally got the look...
8D881901-E800-42DC-8BF4-B223AA5BCF77.jpeg

1858822B-4E79-411F-B9E7-E528958FFE45.jpeg

D3A9CB4A-20DB-4E9C-85AF-96EC586AAE93.jpeg

The next update will be the seating and we have already created the area for them.

Until then I think I will take a rest from man caving and get back to writing

D12EF168-25FB-4DE5-943A-C7340128F69D.jpeg

Sort:  

Listen! You know me and I mean, know me well, so this should come as no great shock...

Installing windows and a bar and stuff is awesome. I am staggered by the fact you both have managed such a professional job to such a high standard BUT the update I am looking forward to is...

Installing the beer!!! 🍻

When you do... In the words of anonymous...

Expect me...

Yeah I know they actually say expect us, but that would have made for a somewhat strange comment wouldn't it? The last thing I need right now is even more strange glances and whispering as I pass by!!!

Nice job Stephen, I genuinely love the way you just, turn your hand to anything, without fear, or at-least without showing it or giving in to it. 😎

You need something this size just house your ideas my friend. But truthfully would make a good garden office. Thank you for taken time to stop as you pass by but i know that your good for it. You and the Mrs are very welcome to come through when we get running and I will have a nice cold one ready for ya my friend.

I am acting on many ideas simultaneously right now. It seems like ht s the only way I can do it... It appears that I must exist in a perpetual haze of chaos and mad activity or nothing at all.

If I do decide to take you up on that generous offer ((IF!!! HAHAHA))

It will be to raise a glass to our massive success on so many different fronts in our lives, both individual and joint projects... That is my great hope!

The future is... uhmmm... happening before our very eyes, and promises us just as much as we are willing to give to the fruition of it's hopes, dreams and desires.

That was a quote from the world famous ((in his own mind)) philosopher @stevenwood 2019

This post has been selected for today's Brits League - five posts of the day from UK Steemians.

This has earned the author one point in this month's Brits League.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61220.17
ETH 2979.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73