Jordan Peterson Series #1 - How To Read and Understand Everything

jordan.jpg

Lately, I have been watching and listening to a lot by Dr. Jordan Peterson. I, therefore, decided to start this series, where I try to put into words what he is saying in short clips on youtube. I will also try to share my own thoughts and ideas on the topic.

I want to start this series with what I think is the best clip to start off with. You can either decide to listen to the clip below or jump directly to my writing.

aJordan Peterson is asked if he has any tips to "how to read and understand things better". He has multiple answers to this question. First of all, he tells us not to take notes during the lecture, in this case, the youtube clip. If we do we are not really practicing and developing our memory skills. It becomes a pseudo-memory. It reminds us of memory, but it's not. Same can be said about not underlining. We are just underlining, we are not processing the information in any way. He advises us to listen, read, or whatever, and then afterward process it. What he recommends is to read a paragraph, then close the book, and think about it. Think about how it connects to other information you have on the topic. If that doesn't work for you, you can take notes. Though it's important to take notes afterward, as it helps you process and remembers. He goes a little deeper and says that it will help you recall things if we after we have read it, try to connect it, criticize it, decide whether we believe, etc. in doing so, we are training the process of recalling, which is part of remembering (memory). The more ways we connect the information, the easier to understand and remember.

He ends the clip by saying: Separate out the function of reading and notetaking, so read, think, write.

My Thoughts

I have for many years had trouble remembering information. Either when I read or listen, but I have a strong memory when I am able to connect pictures with words or sounds. I therefore really like this clip, as it's probably what I needed some advice on. I still wonder what the best way for me, to remember things, would be during a conversation. I have some really intelligent friends, who tell me a lot of information, and I struggle to remember it. After watching this, I might start to repeat what they say in my own words, as I probably won't have a notepad with me all the time. I wanted to start with this clip, as I also have written this post based on what he says in the clip. I will continue trying to do that throughout this series.


How do you help yourself remembering information?


Image Sources: 1

Sort:  

Jordan Peterson is The Dude

Oh yes. He is.

Great portrait picture. It captures the earnestness of the man.

I'm really glad to see someone raising awareness of his work. He has brought together so many strands for me. I've watched his lecture series on Maps of Meaning and PersonalityTransformations for 2016 and then the much improved 2017 lectures.

The reasoned connection between biology and religious symbolism is like a breath of fresh air upon the discussion of the purpose and practice of religion. Imperfect as it is, it has served us for millenia.

Contemplating this the other day, it may be that we have gone through a transformation of mind and spirit, but it hasn't as yet become conscious to us. When I see Jordan Peterson speaking to large audiences of men who are soaking it all up like a sponge, I get the feeling that he has begun that process of bringing that transformation into the consciousness of our age.

I am yet to go into the same depth of his lectures as you have, but reading your comment makes me extremely excited. Religion, as you say, has served us for a long time, most of us totally unaware of this fact. Peterson is shining some light on this, and his modern religious view point is like you say a breath of fresh air. I can't wait to continue this series.

Whatever you do may seem insignificant to you, but it is most important that you do it.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Congratulations @anonymousmind! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77