Are gender neutral pronouns really more important than freedom of speech ?

Are gender neutral pronouns really more important than freedom of speech?

My opinion is: NOT AT ALL.

It irks me that Professor Pete closes her eyes to disconnect, while interrupting Dr. Jordan Peterson and affording him no respect nor attention to actually LISTEN to what he is saying.

I mean no disrespect to her by using the pronoun "she /her".
I choose the pronouns I use, according to what my eyes see and my brain perceives to be true in this moment. I rely o my intuition and heart too. I will not adopt the alternative pronouns for reasons of my own. It is my human right to utilize the vocabulary I speak, as I so choose. I feel saying "they / them" is disrespectful.

Only if asked of me, "please call me ze / sie / purple elephant / John / Penny/ us" - whatever it may be - will I comply with the request. That will be out of sincere respect.

To the equal degree that Professor Pete feels her views on gender neutral pronoun usage has been disrespected, she displays the same level of disrespect by not listening to Dr. Peterson. Why can she not see her own behavior is the same when you peel away all the layers of bullshit.
Insulting him by saying: "because you have transgender friends, doesn't make you transgender" is a stab in the dark and a juvenile retaliation, as far as i am concerned. I don't recall Peterson stating in ANY interview nor lecture that I have watched, that he identifies as transgender.

Dr Peterson had content with value to deliver, and highlighted the void in empirical research and data to predict outcomes accurately regarding the forced use of gender neutral pronouns.

I certainly would not enjoy being a student of Professor Pete. I don't resonate with her behavior. Her resistance to allow his opinion to be heard is not fair nor admirable in my opinion.

Good on you Dr. Jordan Peterson, for standing your ground as you did and for allowing others to speak, without interjecting when you feel emotionally triggered. I have seen this trait in a few interviews and discussions. I see great value in this. I admire how you entirely believe in what you are thinking, saying and teaching.

I have seen you frequently stop to organize the content and vocabulary you are about to deliver to an audience. I like the fact that you are not always an agreeable person. I believe that always and never are words selected according to previous experiences and an inherent belief. These are dangerous polarities to rigidly define everything with and through. Volatility is useful when necessary, but is not always necessary.

I feel certain that smiling and laughter, when displayed by you, Dr. Jordan Peterson, is genuine and sincere.
You inspire me to be a stronger, more efficient, productive, integrated and balanced human being. You inspire me to be less of a push over, to be less influenced by others, to focus on what is important to me, and to see life through a more grounded lens. Your wisdom is tangible, and in my experience your advice has added value to my current state of being.

Thank you for all you have taught me -
you have no idea who I am,

  • however -
    I am humbled through and by what I have understood and pieced together. Thank you for your lecturing, research, experience and observation, shared on a public platform, where I was able to access it and learn from it.
    I am infinitely grateful.

The recording of the heated discussion between Dr Jordan Peterson and Professor Pete can be viewed below

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Signs point to yes

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Congratulations @blackwolfclouds! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94