Changing Have to Get

in #journal5 years ago

One of the best short articles I’ve read recently talked about how one small change in the way we look at things can make a big difference in our lives. Just a simple change from using the word “have” to using the word “get” can change things a lot.

For example we are used to saying, “I have to go to work” or “I have to get out of bed” or “I have to pay my bills.” It is kind of an age old thing, kind of like in the good old days when we had to charge into machine gun fire or get shot by our own troops for desertion. Using the word “have” too much certainly can tend to remove all the fun from life.

Changing things to “get” if you can, helps things sound a lot better, for example: “I get to go to work, so I can easily pay my bills” or “I get to get out of bed, it is so much better than being in a state where I can’t get out of bed.” Or even, “I get to charge into gunfire, so that I can go out in a blaze of glory.” (That might be getting a bit overboard) :^()

have.jpg
Do you really HAVE to know what this is? – click for viewing full screen

If your really stuck having to do some of these things that perhaps you really don’t want to, maybe tricking yourself a bit might be good so that you not always angry, or feeling worse emotions. The hardest thing for me is feeling like there is no way out of a situation and because of the nature of the way things are I’m forced into doing things I really don’t want to.

Using the word “get” more often I have found helpful recently. A simple thing like cleaning the table is so much more enjoyable when I think of it as something I get to do. It helps me feel grateful that I have a table to clean and the ability to easily clean it.

I even get to post on Steemit, woot! LOL, and even get to buy Steem at an extra low discount. ;)

I hope all of you get to do the things you want to do, and aren’t forced into too many things you have to do in you life.


Thanks for reading! I always value your support and comments. The pictures were taken by me with my Galaxy S9+. Text and graphics copyright 1/2/2019 lightsplasher & litesplasher.

Sort:  

“have” or “get”, requires a lot of effort so we can achieve it... good article..

That's one way to do it. I prefer changing it to "am not going."

It certainly is wonderful if you have the opportunity to change things to "am not going." I believe many of the worlds problems would solve themselves if people could really have that kind of choice and the education to make informed choices.

Your are certainly right the word "get" is an actionable word that produces results quickly and fast . This new year we should strive to take actions on our target and get things done quickly @lightsplasher

That is valuable article and excellent photography. thanks for this post.
@lightsplasher
have a great day

Thank you. Have a great day as well, it is nice to hear your feedback.

Most of the things in my life I have to do because it is essential for my survival @lightsplasher
I got to for my dialysis.
I have to use the toilet.
I have to eat even though I don't enjoy it.
I have to write to earn some steem LOL and it is hard too.

I see that. I wish there was a way for you to live life in more health and happiness - peace be with you.

I like the positive feel in these words. It doesn't feel quite as dismal to allowing yourself to go to work as having to go. Yes! Now, to keep the blockchain positive... So we can all keep steeming.

I never would have guessed a rice pot. But, the minute you said it, I could see it.

Happy New Year to you @lightsplasher! You snuck in and posted and I missed you! I hope your 2019 is filled with all things wonderful.

!tip

Thank you! Happy New Year to you as well. Best wishes - it is always nice to see your comments and posts. 😊

It is always my pleasure!

very brilliant article, I am very happy to read it,
this is almost like the way people think using the right brain.

I have never seen this easy picture, and of course I don't know it.

What is the picture?

Thanks @lightsplasher

Thank you, I'm glad you liked reading it, I hope you find it a helpful way of looking at things.

The picture is of the top glass lid of the rice cooker when it just starts cooking and forming droplets on it. The flood light in the ceiling is reflected on the lid as the white spot that you see.

Hello dear, I am very interesting. I am very happy that you can post new posts again

What are you doing this new year dear?
I congratulate you on the new year 2019, hopefully it will be long and healthy

I am very happy to be able to enjoy this post
And funny stories
Thank you very much for sharing my love story

Thank you dear friend, it is very nice to have your support. I hope to be back to posting a bit more regularly this year. I'm focusing on getting more exercise, eating right and doing more reading, writing and possibly programming.

Thank you very much my best friend

Don't you go on vacation, dear friend

Very good photography bro..
Appreciate. Feel free visit me.

Is that rain drops on a car body?

It's actually droplets formed on the inside of a rice cooker lid. Thanks for the guess. 💦

Oh ok. I want to get one of those. I used to always just make minute rice, but now I am into making sushi, so it might be a good investment to have.

It works really well for making sushi rice. You can use a pot too but the rice cooker clicks off at just the right time and then you can unplug it and let it steam for a bit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86