Journal of a peasant of the nineteenth century

in #journal6 years ago (edited)

April 26, 1860

This morning we went to the city to trade with our fruits and vegetables and animal products such as milk and eggs. There is a special market that is only held once a year, despite the long trip will help us a lot during a small season.

My father has prepared the car, I have taken the horses and placed them in it. My mother has given us a basket with bread, cheese and sausages for the road.

Now, we just arrived in the city after spending all day traveling and we prepared to sell everything tomorrow. We have traveled 25 miles all day, the roads are very hard and the journey is slow. Along the way my father told me that for long trips, water transports must be faster and comparatively cheaper than a horse-drawn carriage, yet my father still prefers horses even though they are already old, maybe If we have a lot of profits we could take advantage and acquire new ones younger. See you tomorrow.

800px-Horse_drawn_wagon_loaded_with_potatoes_-_NARA_-_285660.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66924.38
ETH 3111.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75