"Never Judge a Book by it's Cover"

in #judging6 years ago

My story on a Saturday afternoon as I ran into a gas station to grab a fuel can. I was halfway done mowing my lawn and needed to refill my mower but I wanted a new fuel can due to the age of my current one. I am covered in dirt and grass and have on a pair of dirty shorts and a dirty t-shirt with holes (typical yard work attire). As I am approaching the counter, a lady in a nice garden dress and her young daughter are paying for their items. The little girl is staring at me and her mother tells her to stop staring multiple times. I smile at the girl to assure her I am a nice man, but her mother quickly shields her from me (I am standing about 6 feet back as to not make them feel uncomfortable). As they finish, I hear the mother say to the little girl, "That is why you need to stay in school!" Huh...what in the world is that supposed to mean!

Quick side note, I stand about 6'2" around 200lbs (fit) and have two full sleeve tattoos (just to give you an idea of my appearance).

I quickly pay and walk outside. The lady is parked near the front door and has not gotten into her car yet. I see this as an opportunity to teach this young girl and her mother a lesson. I approach her and ask, "Ma'am. I heard what you said to your daughter, what did you mean by that? Her response was classic, as she studders, "Well, I just wanted her to understand that school is important so she can be educated and live a happy life." I am now assuming she thinks I have a terrible life, maybe homeless or whatever.

So I respond,

"Ma'am, you should never judge a book by it's cover. I simply look like this because I ran out of fuel while mowing my 2 acre yard at my 5 bedroom house. I am about to go get back in that 2015 Chevy Silverado 2500HD with 6 inch lift to head back home to my beautiful wife and 4 dogs to finish the job. That way I don't have to worry about in on Monday as I report for duty in my position as a Platoon Leader in the United States Army where I hold the rank of Chief Warrant Officer Two. Not to mention I have a Masters Degree in Business Administration in which I completed the program with a 4.0 GPA."

Just because someone may be dirty and have tattoos, never judge them before finding out the truth. I left them with this,

"God bless you Ma'am, and good luck her young lady!"maxresdefault.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68