Junkanoo way man

in #junkanoo6 years ago (edited)

In one hand I had a cuban cigar that my Sri Lankan roommate, who studies medicine on the island, had given me. The brand of Fidel Castro and Che Guevara, Cohiba. In the other I had an empty chicken noodle soup can that used to contain rum and coke. The car had just passed me and gone in to the dead end street to turn around. I was happy to see the idiots again. Didn’t think I’d get a chance to confront them. About 15 minutes earlier they had sold me 10 usd worth of weed which turned out to be nothing but plastic bags in another plastic bag (always check the product, I know). On top of that they asked me to buy ”security” for 10 usd. I laughed and let them know there was no way that was going to happen. Then they tried for 5. I declined again. I guess their plan must’ve been to rob me when they came back. Seeing as how I had not invested in their ”security”. However as I started walking towards the headlights, happy to get a chance to give them a piece of my mind, their plans suddenly changed. I walked fast towards the car and as I reached it I went to the passenger window. Unfortunately, as soon as I was no longer in the cars way they took off with screaming tires. They hit my hand so I dropped the cigar so all that was left for me to do was to throw my chicken noodle soup can at the car. I really hope it made a dent. If I could do it all over I would have thrown myself on the hood of the car and keyed in my name for them to remember. Fucking assholes. These are the kinds of people that would give drug dealers a bad reputation.

Anyway, figured I’d give you an update regarding my Guest House plans. I’m currently in The Bahamas, on a visa trip. I’ll be headed back to Jamaica tomorrow. I’ve tried to grow myself fat during the holidays, to be better prepared for life in the bush. I think I’ve managed to muster up a bit of a pot belly, so I’ve got that going for me. I’ve also bought a number of useful tools, some of which would be somewhat difficult to find in Jamaica. Here's a pic of my Christmas gifts for myself.

IMG_4759.JPG

I’ve made a downpayment of 10 % of the value of the land. I’ve also signed the contract and provided proof of funds. Next I’m expecting the other party to sign and the title to be prepared in my name before moving on with the final transaction. I’m expecting to pay around 6000 euros, including lawyer- and other fees. It’s 7 acres of mountainy terrain with at least 3 smaller mountain peaks and valleys in between. There is no Internet, water, electricity, toilet or showers. There is however A LOT of limestone on the land. I intend to make good use of it in constructing the buildings. I will need to burn the stones in a kiln to make quick lime which I then will turn to slaked lime by pouring water on them. This should cause a chemical reaction in which the stones will turn to a form of putty that I can mix with sand and volcanic ash (or fly ash, pumice or silica fume) to make my own concrete. If I manage to get this process right there won't be a limit to the building opportunities, seeing as how the ground is absolutely covered in these rocks.

At this point I’m actively looking for people to help me kick this thing started. There is a handful of people I feel might actually join, in not to long. If you’re up for an adventure and want to create an example of sustainable living, in Jamaica, please let me know. I will not be able to do this alone.

Hope you enjoyed the holidays.

Peace.

ps. I also went to Junkanoo which is a Bahamian carnival thing.

IMG_4741.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54