Night Out With Jupiter

in #jupiter6 years ago (edited)

Photographed from Shanklin Beach on the Isle of Wight.

It was a beautiful night out last night shooting on Shanklin seafront on the Isle of Wight. A thin hazy covering of cloud rendered the Milky Way all but invisible. I didnt realise until I got home however, that I captured a rather amazing photograph of Jupiter!


Click to View

Jupiter was visible up to around 5am and is the very large bright star (it's a planet actually) that can be seen centre image directly over Shanklin cliff. I have included a crop of Jupiter and you can see it is about 10x larger than any other star in the sky. Jupiter is the largest planet in our solar system. If you zoom in, while the stars are beginning to streak at 25 seconds exposure, Jupiter is still round in shape, meaning because it is local to our solar system, it moves independently relative to the rest of the universe (from Earth's perspective). I also noticed something I have not noticed before and that is the amazing multi-coloured-ness of the stars!


Click to View

I have included the original as a comparism and you can see, all I added was contrast and some saturation and straightened the horizon, with only ambient light from Shanklin and the stars illuminating the shot.


Click to View

As a bonus, I have included a hand-held photograph I took of Jupiter the following night with the Nikon P510 (forerunner to the awesome P900) at 42x optical zoom and 2x digital zoom (84x equivalent)! The noise in the shot is a combination of atmospheric distortion, camera resolution, image pixelation and camera shake. Next time Jupiter is visible and it is a clear night, I will try the shot again using a sturdy tripod.


Click to View


If you like this post, please Follow, Upvote, Resteem, Comment and Share...

More good stuff coming soon :)


Matt Blythe

sw3giu.gif

Copyright Inner Vision Photography, 2018.
http://www.innervision.org.uk

Sort:  

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 4X upvote! I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar! I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Requested by @innervision

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62500.50
ETH 2936.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59