Colorful moon gif

in #justbecause5 years ago

6-10-2019

Half a Moon

Right now night time photography can be a bit tricky here in Alaska. It hardly gets dark right now. last night, (early, early this morning), about 12:10 AM the moon was right out my window and pretty high in the sky. An almost perfect half a moon. The sun had just set about 11:30 PM. So the moon was very bright.

DSC_7136 - cropped.jpg

I did learn a few things last night taking this picture. I was pretty tired, I started with the setting the camera recommended, you know get all the little hash marks in the middle by adjusting the aperture and speed settings. That was pretty much a wash, the moon was really bright. So ignoring that and using the f 5.6 stop, I just kept increasing the speed. So f 5.6, speed 1/250, ISO 250, and focal length 155 mm that is what I achieved. I must have been pretty tired because I thought I was zoomed in all the way, but I guess not. Still that is the best shot of the moon I have gotten and I am going to keep trying and hope to get a full moon shot in a couple of weeks.

I played with my moon and created this little gif for your viewing pleasure.

moon non-stop ani gif.gif

The ani gif was created by taking the image above cropping it a little closer and tighter in, saving that image, then from it creating 17 other images using a saturation level of 75, and then stepping through the hues from 15-255 15 steps at a time, so 17 image mash-up. delay time for each frame is 45/100's .

Sort:  

So beautiful! So I would like to have a telescope so that I can see the moon, and the stars and simply watch the sky.
Thank you for sharing my friend😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73