You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's your vote, here is one method, but it is a long read - - - One way to Maximize your Votes Power - - -

in #justbecause6 years ago (edited)

This helps me a lot! I have been struggling to find information on this stuff that’s digestible. I am still learning the ropes of what’s a good move to do and what’s not the best. Thankfully the zone I reign in, comments, seems to work out well all around so that’s a plus! I still can’t figure out the dust sweeper though, I’ll have to go over there and give it more of a read and research.
Thanks, and reSteemed!

Sort:  

After 7 days when a post or a comment reaches payout time, if a post or a comment does not have a value of $0.020 then those votes are not going to count and you will not get a reward from those votes. For visibility and ease of reading payout is only shown in the three digit format. So a payout being shown as $0.02 may not be a payout it could be a total value of anywhere from $0.016-$0.025. They round up or down from 5. Those vote payouts that are more than $0.020 are going to be rewarded, those at $0.019 or less will not.
@dustsweeper will come in on day four or five, and vote enough to raise the payout above the $0.02 level. With the price of steem though this is no guarantee that that a payout level will be maintained.

Oh great thanks for the explanation it makes more sense now! So I give them a little money and they upvote my stuff so I get a reward?

Yes you are investing in yourself. As a new user or someone that mostly gets votes from new users, (like me), most of the received votes are less than 2 cents. With the price of steem decreasing it takes more SP to give a vote above 2 cents, or to receive a vote above 2 cents. 1 SBD deposited to @dustsweeper will raise about 70 dust votes to a payout level. So instead of those 70 votes going bye bye, they now go to your reward pile.

Thanks for the tip, one more question since I don’t have 80 SP, I can vote on anything right now correct and not have to worry about my power recharging?

That is a tough call, I am not sure how much Vote Power you need to use in order to get a curation reward. It is something you could experiment with, but the other thing about voting way down, is a lot of people will see that in a negative way. Voting and commenting in hopes of a return vote. It is a tough balancing act how far to let your Vote Power decrease to versus how it appears to others.

There is a balance and a point of diminishing returns for curation rewards. Likewise there is the balancing act of appearance, (is he voting because they like my content or because they are hunting comment upvotes)?, some people ask that question to themselves, and will look to see how an individual has been commenting/voting.

In the end, it is your vote. If I see people saying you need to upvote me, I leave. People will tell you you are voting to much, you are not voting enough, you are voting wrong, you should upvote yourself, you shouldn't upvote yourself, who knows, a person really can vote however they want and there is no wrong way.

If you want to keep getting curation rewards, I would still try to stay in the upper 20% of vote power, but to be honest, I do not know if it has an effect or not. I never wanted to do the low vote experiment.

This is all very helpful. I upvoted all these comments just a little. Can you watch the results and figure out the effect of low-power voting? Let me know if you do.

Since I have a @dustsweeper account, the votes on me will be raised to payout level. If you vote on a comment without a @dustsweeper account, most comments only get the one vote, and it is less than a two cent vote then it will just evaporate like it never happened and you will get no curation reward for it.

Example if you were to look at my "curation Rewards" tab versus yours you would see I get about 4 or more rewards an hour, whereas you get about one an hour. On steemworld for the last 7 days I voted 268 times and you 213 times. So 38 times a day for me 30 times a day for you. Only 8 votes a day more than you but In a one day (a 23 hour period) you got 24 curation rewards, for that same time frame I got 34.

1.388 SP for you:
0.402 SP for me.
You have slightly less than twice as much SP as I do. So you are doing much better at voting on paying content than I do. I think if you set out and made sure the vote you cast was at least valued at two cents, then you would double your curation rewards.

Thanks a bunch for all the info! I appreciate the help, I’m getting used to it more each week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59110.01
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72