You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My 26th Newbieresteemday post - Half a Versary - 6 month journey

in #justbecause6 years ago

That's really awesome of you to do this. It's one of the things I'm really enjoying about the steemit community. People are focused and committed to building the platform through investing in the newbies. Thanks for all you do!

Also... how is this post protected by @dustsweeper and what is it protected from?

Sort:  

It does not happen often to me anymore, but occasionally a post will get less than a $0.02 payout. In the event on day five I had at least one vote, and it was valued at less than the two cent minimum, dustsweeper would have come along and upvoted it enough to give it a three cent payout on day 5. Many new users will still have post that receive less than two cents in value of votes, yet have 3 or 4 votes. I do still get votes on some of my comments that are less than two cents, so dustsweeper will give those comments a boost to the three cent level also, so the person's vote counts and they get a curation reward, and I receive the reward they intended.

Any time you receive a total vote payout less than two cents it is burned up, as if no one voted for you. In the past 6 days, while you have had votes ranging from $0.00 to $0.85, you have 11 votes of $0.02 or less. the one vote at $0.20 may or may not be at threshold level, @dustsweeper will look at those 11 comments and provide enough of a vote to get them close to the $0.03 level, so a gain of $0.33 versus no gains at all for those eleven votes. You would get rewarded, the people that cast the votes for you would get their curation reward, and dustsweeper will get a curation reward also. So from two people getting nothing to three people, (or more), getting something. The (or more) is because you had I think one comment that received two votes and still did not make it above the dustoff level to where they were going to be burned up.

Thanks for the thorough response. I'm still not sure how to tell what a vote is worth. I know when someone is new their vote isn't worth much of anything, right? I also delegated some of my voting power to @tribesteemup I think, so that likely makes my vote worth even less. Is there a simple way to see what my vote is worth? I'm rather confused by all the intricacies of this system.

Is dustsweeper something that would eventually deplete my account if my own voting power is less than it's threshold? Or do I allocate a finite amount of power to it and then reevaluate when that power is all used?

To begin do not be alarmed at what you are about to see. I love the steemworld program, it is very useful. To see what your vote is worth it really helps:
matifer acc.png
A very handy useful quick look view of a lot of information. Here is how to see how much someones vote was worth:
matifer vote value.png
You just open up the green arrow and a lot more information is presented, like I said that steemworld program is a fantastic tool.

No @dustsweeper does not deplete an account. When using dustsweeper you are basically providing a means to raise the payout level of dust level votes whether on a post or a comment. It is your money, (with a little bonus thrown in by dustsweeper), that does the voting for you. One SBD will raise about 70 low level votes received. You decide how much money to invest in yourself, there is a minimum that is set to start an account, but you can add to the total as you earn. I myself have a balance of I am guessing around 1.5 SBD.

Even though I have been here for a almost a year on steemit, I know virtually nothing about curation trails or delegating SP for profit. I know how to delegate SP, but I have not done it or looked into seeing how to do it for getting a payback, I just donate a little bit for things.

Voting is a difficult thing to talk about, people do not like being told how when who or why to vote, and I am of the opinion that no one should tell another person how to vote. I did do a post not to long ago on one strategy of voting, but it is only suggestions and some (as I know it) realities about how and when to vote.

I hope the above helped a little bit.

@bashadow Yes, that helped a lot. I looked at steemworld a bit and it does seem quite useful. I was only mildly alarmed that my vote isn't actually worth anything... but my granny always said it's the thought that counts, so I'll go with that for now. 😃 Maybe I should consider undelegating until my vote actually has a value.

I think once I am more confident in my understanding of how the financial side of this works I'll take advantage of dustsweeper. In the meantime, I'll continue to educate myself on everything steem.

I sent a starting dust account to you, so you can see how it works. I don't know if you get small votes on comments, but in five days even though I am going to do a small vote on your comment, you will see it get a vote from dustsweeper, thus giving it a payout.

Cool beans, thanks! Do I need to do anything to activate it?

Nope, just checked, it is already working for you. It will send you a comment when your account gets real low, all you have to do is send them a little bit and they will add it to your balance. I my self just pop a little bit in every now and then.

Cool beans! That sounds simple enough. Thanks!

Hi @bashadow! I`m here to help :) If you want to delegate, please make a comment (for example replay to this one) like this:
I want to delegate X sp to @user
Where X is the amount of SP and @user is the steem user you want to delegate to. For example:
I want to delegate 100 sp to @mattifer
Hope this helps!:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59110.01
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72