To OSU or not to OSU

in #karate6 years ago

OSU.jpg

There is great debate among Karate-ka about using the word OSU in the dojo. Although Karate originated in Okinawa, the word OSU did not.

The word OSU actually originates from Japan and there are many theories on its origin.

Some Common Theories

The word OSU, from a modern perspective, is a contraction of the very polite way of saying “good morning” or in Japanese, “Ohayo gozaimasu”. The word is kind of a slang expression that has evolved from shortening Ohayo gozaimasu to OSU which is used by men, towards men.

Although many believe the word is a modern creation, there is some evidence that the word OSU was invented as far back as the 18th & 19th centuries by the Samurai of the Saga clan of kyushu Island. It has been written (Yamamoto Tsunetomo’s book Hagakure) that the word was used by the young bushi (warriors) as they greeted one another in the morning.

Another theory is that the word OSU comes from the Japanese word “Onegaishimasu” which means “please help me, please teach me” or “please take care of me / I am in your care” or “please have patience with me”. Onegaishimasu is a very important word used in the dojo and that the word OSU is a shortened and less formal version of that word Onegaishimasu.

There is yet another theory I have come across that the word OSU was invented (I think it was adopted) by the Imperial Navy of Japan in the mid-20th century to instil a bushido (way of the warrior) mindset as military personnel are trained to do things in a hurry. The word OSU was quick, masculine, to the point and relates to the previously mentioned salutations mentioned.

Okinawa

In Okinawa, the term OSU is not used. In fact, I have been told it is rude, incorrect and wrong! In Okinawan dojos, the word ‘Hai” is used as a response to receiving an instruction. Perhaps, the differences between Okinawa and Japanese culture, is why the word OSU is frowned upon in Okinawa.

Personal Use

Although I practice and study mainly an Okinawan Karate curiculum in my dojo, I do utilize the word OSU. Some people get offended and think I’m behind the times or believe I am uneducated in “real” Karate-do. Nothing could be further from the truth.

My use of the word OSU is a contraction of two words from the phrase “Osu no Seishin” (from the Kyokushin), which means “To Push and Endure”. I spent many times in Ikebukuro Japan as as some of you may know, that is Kyokushi Kai district so maybe you can see where I’m coming from with this.

Hope you enjoyed.

OSU!

41uvsorJaQL._SY300_.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @slynch! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66021.84
ETH 2981.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70