Should Brett Kavanaugh Testify Again

in #kavanaugh6 years ago

Well, as you may have guessed from prior posts, I have no desire to see Brett Kavanaugh become a Supreme Court justice, but that is because he is a corporatist. I couldn't care less about Roe versus Wade. And I certainly don't care about these sexual allegations from decades ago.

But if I were advising Judge Kavanaugh, I would tell him not to deny these allegations again, especially in front of the Senate Judiciary Committee. Once is enough.

I would instead deliver a carefully worded statement such as the following:

"I can understand why Ms. Ford would make these allegations. People innocently confabulate. Time goes by and memory fades and rearranges itself in our imperfect minds. Also, people innocently confabulate when their lives touch someone in the public eye. After Neil Armstrong landed on the moon, people imagined all sorts of prescient memories about a young Neil Armstrong. One of Neil's grade school teachers remembered the time that he asked Neil what his plans were for the future. According to his teacher, Neil pointed at the full moon and said, "Someday I'd like to meet that man up there." This event reportedly happened in 1946 - twenty-three years before his science teacher remembered the event. Neil Armstrong later stated that this never happened.* Such is the case with these allegations by Ms. Ford. They never happened.

I don't know any more effective way to state the truth, so this will be my last statement regarding this matter. If the Senate Judiciary Committee sees fit to not accept my statement as truth, I stand ready to withdraw my nomination to the Supreme Court and my position as a Federal judge immediately."


*First Man: The Life of Neil A. Armstrong by James R. Hansen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73