"She liked it" - Keangaroo Writing Contest Prompt - Prize Pool

in #keangaroo6 years ago (edited)

I've hosted three writing contests at Steemit with $20 SBD first prize and $5 runner-up awards and $2 steem shelves.

And now, for something completely different....


The Isle of Write

is on the lookout for excellent fiction and poetry. For the next eight weeks we will curate stories old and new (yes, even those past payout). Every author of a curated fiction piece will receive 5 SBD and an invitation to be included in our Steemit Anthologies.

Five anthologies --coming in April of this year--one for Steemit Poetry, and four for Steemit Fiction:

Science Fiction/Fantasy
Horror/Paranormal
Mystery/Thriller/Suspense
Literary

Our goal is to fill each anthology with curated Steemit authors to showcase the talent Steemit has to offer. Click on The Isle of Write Curation Announcement for further details.

Back to the Contest:

"She liked it"

sounds like a good final line of a story. I hear echoes of "Reader, I married him" - the famous line in Charlotte Bronte's immortal "Jane Eyre."

In fact, after floating a "She Liked It!" Trial Balloon with this idea, I received an entry already, and it is stellar. That entry solidified my conviction that this is a worthy prompt.

If you assume "She liked it!" can only refer to some sexual plot device, see My Previous Post in which I credit @geekorner with inspiring the prompt, then refute him when -- well, see for yourself, if you wish.

Also, everyone knows I am no bureaucrat with prompts, or how far the author may deviate from the theme.

I also do not count words or keep tabs on clocks and calendars.

Furthermore, I read every word of every entry. (Some contest hosts will drop your story cold if your first line fails to hook them.)

Keangaroo's "Rules"

1 - Write an original story or poem which includes the words "She" (or he or they) "Liked It" (or loved it, or perhaps even hated it). The original idea was to have it end with "She liked it." But I don't want to limit you.

2A - Post the link to this contest at the end of your post.

2B - Put keangaroo first in your hashtag; otherwise it will be more tedious for me to locate your story while judging.

3 - Post it at Steemit. Copy the URL. Paste it into the Comment section of this post.

5 SBD will be awarded to every contest entrant who is curated for the anthology.

Deadline: Friday, February 2, 2018

Your time zone or mine - if your entry is awesome, you might slip it in a day or two late.

Authors will retain the rights to their work

except as pertains to the sales or distribution of the anthologies.
Each author will also receive a printed, bound copy of their book. A real, physical book with professional cover art.

The Isle will be actively promoting the anthologies on and off Steemit to maximize exposure for these talented writers .

Again, The Isle of Write Curation Announcement spells out the details.

We look forward to seeing where your imagination takes you. And to be sure your writing skills help you get there, try the Isle of Write workshop. It's free!

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

*Pixabay photos courtesy of Tomasz Mikołajczyk

Sort:  

This a great idea and a big opportunity @carolkean

Thank you for responding to the contest prompt, Guy!
Yours is the First Entry!
I'd love to see a sequel. This is all very mysterious and intriguing.

Curied!
Congratulations, Guy!
**NOTE: You did not link to the contest anywhere in your post.
Off to edit my own post...

What a terrific idea Carol!

Steemit is full of opportunities, isn't it fantastic to get published and get a prize for that!

G'day, dear @carolkean. Intriguing prompt...here's my response:
"Her Eyes" https://steemit.com/keangaroo/@yahialababidi/her-eyes-keangaroo-writing-contest-prompt Shahira.jpg

Thank you for the opportunity. Here is my poem: https://steemit.com/keangaroo/@poetrybyjeremy/the-puppeteer

I hope she likes it... lets himself out

I know the post was published late; however, I liked it so much that I still decided to publish it.

I really love to write it

https://steemit.com/keangaroo/@jadams2k18/little-cup-she-liked-it-contest-entry

Thank you for writing it - and posting it! Never too late - I added the link to my contest update. Check your wallet. Writers new to Steemit deserve to be recognized, even if 2 sbd won't buy more than a cup of coffee from your favorite Old-World cafe. (I love the Madonna references, by the way!) I love heart-warming stories. Thanks again - you painted a vivid picture of Pete and his father, and Pete's frantic prayers, that will stay with me forever. And I'd rather have lovely images linger in my mind. Blessings all over you, as a beloved toddler used to say. :)

You are very welcome. I'm pleased that you liked it. As I told you before, I loved to write it. Blessings all over you too.

And thanks for let my post in and thanks for the 2 sbd!

By the way, with 2 sbd, in my country, I can buy 40 cups of coffees! YAY!. Thank you! and I didnt understand Madonna references :(

the Virgin of Our Lady of the Rosary of Fatima--
sorry - Our Lady, Mary, better known as The Madonna to most people -
even a lot of Catholics (in USA, anyway) are unfamiliar with Our Lady of Fatima.

I got it now. I thought you were talking about the singer, ha ha ha. Sorry, my bad.

Here, in my country, We are believers to various Marian devotions: Our Lady of Fatima, Our Lady of Coromoto, Our Lady of Valley among others.

I wanna visit your country and drink lotsa coffee!
And boost your economy, but then, your coffees might cost a lot more.
glad you can actually get something with 2sbd

It would be great if you come to visit. But for now I would not recommend it. Nowadays, my country is going through many socio-economic problems.

My country is beautiful. And it has many places to visit, such as beautiful beaches, snowy mountains, jungles, deserts, etc. And It has the best warm heart's people of the world.

But for now, there is a lot of insecurity for both those who live here and foreigners. It's unfortunate, but I do not lose hope that things will get better one day.

Meanwhile, I will take many cups of coffee to your health! Have a nice day Keangaroo (Que tengas buen día Kingarú)!

Hi there. This comment is to let you know that your contest has been included in @moneyinfant's Steemit Writing Contests: Issue #11. The list is updated on a daily basis and your contest will remain on the list until its expiration - there's nothing you need to do.

The list was created to save writers the excessive amount of time spent searching through the #contest tag for writing contests. Now they can just come to the list each day, see new contests and use their time doing what they love - writing.

If you'd like to help spread the word about the Steemit Writing Contest list I'd really appreciate a resteem, but it certainly isn't necessary. The project is simply meant to help writers save time and contest creators attract more contestants.

Have a Steemy Day!

P.S. If you know of any contests I've missed I'd love to hear about them. Thanks!

Thank you! Sorry I missed the upvote window on this.

You're welcome and no worries!

Thank you, Debbie! I love the surprise twist at the end :)

I'm glad you loved it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76