Justice for Kenneka Jenkins

in #kennekajenkins7 years ago (edited)

This morning as soon as I woke up I picked up my phone as I usually do. I scrolled through Instagram and also viewed Whatsapp statuses. One post on Instagram captured my attention. It was a picture of a young black female with angel wings around her. The caption stated "don't scroll without saying R.I.P.". I don't usually comment so I decided not to. Continuing to scroll through Instagram I stumbled upon a story. It consisted of screenshotted tweets and pictures of the same female I just saw a picture of. I decided to do my own research to find out what happened to this female, Kenneka Jenkins.
My research brought back some really strange details that need to be looked into. It is believed that (according to a newsource) Kenneka told her mom that she was going to a bowling party but instead went to a party at a hotel in Chicago with friends. In a viral video on Facebook you can hear a lot of things going on that have made a lot suspect that her friends may have been involved in her murder. In the video you can hear her tell a man "I'm not drunk". At around 3:09 in the video you can hear Kenneka say "Help me" in a faint voice.
Whenever she would try to talk her "friend" Irene who would turn up the music to drown out her voice. According to a text message it is believed that another one of her so called "friends", Monifa Shelton, who worked at the hotel set her up for $200.

Screenshot_2017-09-12-15-42-47.png
Her body was later found in a freezer that was only accessible to employees at the hotel.
Her mother, Teresa Martin, had to go to the hotel three times knocking on doors and asking guest if they know anything before they found her daughter’s body. The authorities claim that Kenneka may have been drunk and wandered into the freezer but her mother does not believe that was even possible. She says that if her daughter was actually drunk there is no way that she could have opened the doors. “Those were double steel doors; she didn’t just pop them open."
I believe that more needs to be done to the situation. I pray that justice will be given to Kenneka’s family. I also hope that this will bring more alertness to whoever reads this post when choosing friends! Please choose them wisely. Do not be afraid to cut off anyone that gives you bad energy. Nothing is wrong with that.

Sort:  

Yikes, that is scary. I hope they figure out what has happened. That is so sad for her family.

Congratulations @britneytay! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I hope justice is served. I don't see someone walking into a freezer, willingly, closing it and freezing to death no matter the level of inebriation. Something just ain't adding up.

no offense but why do you say "no matter the level of inebriation" ------------ You've never been out with Friends who got too drunk and literally PASSED OUT on sidewalks? sides of clubs? In the club?? Everyone on earth doesn't really party; I do. My boys do; and we have Too many stories of someone passing out where they should not have. sounds like they were all too drunk; Left her unattended ............ and she did, wander off, got herself into an area she was too drunk to figure out how to get out of; may have sat down, passed out, and froze to death; Folks shouldn't play like they're trained detectives on social media; but they do. This poor young lady lost her life; but we wanna pin that on People who possibly had nothing to do with it.

None taken, but if that claim could be proved beyond all reasonable doubt then so be it. I'll hate for an innocent person to be punished for a crime they are not guilty of. The same way I'll hate for a guilty party to walk away free. Not playing an internet sleuth or something of that nature. But if you read the details it's a bit sketchy and not adding up. It's as if someone is somehow covering something up.

I guess that is where I'm looking at all this; The news is tragic enough; Let's not pull innocent people into it, who may have just been Irresponsible; while drinking; which a lot of us are guilty of. Hell I look back in life and Thank God so many times for letting me make it home safe; had no business behind the wheel; so many wild nights .... anyways i hope the family will get through this. All around, it's a sad, sad story

It's an unfortunate situation. The hotel should've secured that area too. If it's locked, there's no way she could have accessed there.

have you seen the latest details yet? -- Not sure they released the video yet; still waiting on the mother to see; But it appears she was too drunk, got left alone while her friends went back upstairs, and she then wandered off into an unsafe area of the hotel that should have been sealed off; this looks like an accident - that unfortunately happened.

The Video footage does not show her going down to that area with anyone; so all these rumors of Men raping her, and her friends watching or setting her up, is a really bad narrative - seems like it's full of Untruths throughout.

Yes I have heard the latest details and I've seen a couple videos

Please, bring us up to speed

Congratulations @britneytay! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62184.89
ETH 2995.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97