A New Me is Coming...Keto to the Rescue!?!

in #keto6 years ago

After a LONG history of proscratination and excuses, I figure now is a better time than ever. Recently, I was made aware of a promotion coming my way at work, and needed to go out and get a few new pairs of "dressier" pants for the new role. Well today, I finally got a chance to see myself in front of a full length mirror and immediately was disgusted. I seen parts of my stomach and love handles just sagging. The muscle definition (not that there was a ton, but at least it was presentable) that was there just a few short years ago...gone. I literally stared at the mirror, just in my socks, boxer briefs and a tight fitting, now shortened shirt, seeing my belly peek out the bottom. I couldn't believe what had happened to me. It was like I lost all sense of pride in myself. I felt embarrassed. I thought how could I look this and want to be seen in public with my wife, daughter and son. All I could do was simply laugh. I knew right there, I needed to adjust something and NOW!

I'm 5'11" and weigh 281 LBS. Good LORD!!! Not even a decade ago, I was weighing in the range of 195-200...that means I gained around 10lbs a year since then. I guess I didn't really see it. I mean I have wore a 36" waist pant for the longest time, some pants are up to a 40" now but I attributed that to make and style of the jean or dress pant. So even though my waist seems to stay the same or not gain in size too much, my belly is making up for it. I wear a 2XL shirt and today my wife said that I almost need a 3XL! I can't...I won't...

I made a trip to GNC today to stock up on some multi vitamins and ran into a young guy. He struck up a conversation with me and I was quite nervous. He was good looking kid, great shape and quite soft spoken. Where I live, most younger guys like this would be standoffish but he wasn't. He stated he was a personal trainer and said he would love to help me in the right direction. He mentioned Keto dieting. After hearing about it for about a half hour, it reminded me a lot of the Paleo diet I did at one time, but this seemed different. Keto seems to be more concentrated on fats compared to more protein. I liked the sound of what he had to say. We exchanged numbers and have been texting back and forth off and on today. He trains and works for two local gyms and I plan on meeting up with him to discuss meal plans, excercise and how to work to NOT fail at this.

I have a wedding to attend the first week of July. I do not want to be looking how I do now for that occassion as it will be in Florida and I want to be somewhat presentable in pictures for the family in attendance. I also have soccer coming up to coach and the last thing I want to do is not be able to run and train the kids I coach because I'm so out of shape. Lastly, I have a little girl that is the love of my life that is only 2.5 years old. I want her to be able to grow up and see her dad die of old age and not because I was some lazy idiot who didn't take care of himself.

So my fellow steemians, I will be focusing on sharing my story here for the world to see. I look forward to sharing my results, my journey and my story with you all. I hope you too will share some insight, maybe find inspiration if you are where I am today and will join me and together we will all conquer our current lifestyle and change it for a better one.

Good luck and thank you everyone!

Sort:  

Good luck! I haven't been on Keto that long, but I am losing about a pound a week which is not bad for a disabled person. Learn to run your numbers, and learn what food you can use to "cheat" with and you will do fine. (Its really not cheating, just working foods you like into your diet). lol

Thank you @fernowl13. I've done the Paleo diet before but I can see already that I will like this much more. I enjoy the fat and protein mix and not a big fan of carbs in the first place.

Hey @cryptobeans, great post! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! Cheers :)

Good luck. I know how hard it can be; I've lost over 100 pounds on keto, but I have 200 yet to go. Trust me; I understand the struggle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58