New lifestyle with a ketogenic diet and intermittent fasting

in #ketodiet6 years ago

Two weeks ago I started my transformation journey. I am currently following a seven week meal plan to enter ketosis.
I am introduced to so much new food and I make almost everything from scratch.

51CA2D16-7213-4CB6-98E2-40CE9987E350.jpeg
Homemade bread.

What is ketosis?
A ketogenic diet means cuttings carbohydrates down to about 20 grams a day, restrict protein and increase the amount how healthy fats, and most important; cut out sugar. When doing this the body switches its fuel supply and starts burning fat. This is great if you are trying to lose weight, but it also has a lot of other health benefits. These are benefits like more energy, less hunger, more focus, better sleep. It can also have other great health benefits like: inflammatories, high blood pressure, diabetes, IBS and much more. Of course people with serious diseases should consult with a doctor before going on a diet like this.

Intermittent fasting:
For better results I do the ketogenic diet together with intermittent fasting. The first two weeks a gently introduced the fasting by skipping breakfast and only eat lunch and dinner (no snacking). Now for week three I start with three days a week where I only eat dinner and a smoothie. There should be a 22 hour fasting window.

Results after two weeks:
In the beginning you should be aware of the side effects. You can get something called “keto flu.” I experiences hunger, headache, dizziness and lightheaded, nausea and just a lack of energy. I tried to work out a couple of times, but had to quit after short time. I have now put that on hold until the energy level comes back up. In two weeks I have lost 6 kg (13 pounds). Even though my energy level is pretty low, I have had some days where it has been extremely high, where I couldn’t mange to sit still.

Tips to keep the diet:
I found a set meal plan for a ketogenic diet. This diet tells me exactly what to eat every day and how much. This names it easier for me to follow the diet. I look at the plan for next week and wright down all the ingredients I need for every meal and a shop everything the weekend before. There is also a lot of prepping to do, since I have to bring my own food to work. I prep the meals the day before (I work shifts so i either have to bring lunch or dinner to work). But with the meal plan and the shopping everything once a week it isn’t hard to follow.

992BAD2C-5049-4ECA-AF28-AA25F8B48898.jpeg

Some basic product to buy and have at home:
Raw cacao
Tea (i buy green tea from pukka)
Goji berries
Cacao nibs
Natural sweet leafs (i have vanilla and chocolate flavor)
Erythritol
Coconut oil
Collagen hydrosylate
MCT oil
Almond flour
Coconut flour
Peanut flower
Cacao butter

I will follow up with more of my progress and different recipes.
For now here is a recipe for ketofriendly chocolate

50 grams of raw cacao (cacao mass)
25 grams of cacao butter (I used powder the first time, but it goes better with mass)
20-25 grams of Erythritol
1/2 table spoon of vanilla powder
Drops of sweet leaf (taste)

4E694170-1D8E-4042-AE47-36BC90FFE23B.jpeg

Heat the butter and mass over a waterbath, do not melt it directly in a pan on the stovetop . When melted add the sweeters. Put it in some small forms, I use some silicone ice cube forms. Keep it in the fridge, it will sett in about an hour. I also added som sea salt on the top for extra flavor.

I am exited for next week and I will let you know how it goes. For other people on the same journey, please share some recipes you like. (Especially when it comes to sweets, since that’s the hardest for me to let go)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57