Fried Kale Paneer

in #ketopian5 years ago (edited)

Hello reader,

similar to an earlier recipe, this dish's main ingredient is a power vegetable fried and seasoned to enhance flavor and texture. I never liked kale and would turn away from it. This method of cooking it, I found for myself, turns this power green into a delicious meal that I go back to weekly for both nutrition and flavor. I also love it when a meal can satisfy all my nutritional needs for the day.

The key I found to cooking kale is to flash fry it in the pan while fully coating it with the oil, then cover to steam it and allow it to soften. To balance out the bitterness of the dark green, I add a teaspoon of balsamic vinegar. For today's version, I also experimented with adding a little bit of ketchup, mustard, and mayo. All which have hints of sourness and sweetness, two flavors that can work with naturally bitter ingredients.


Screen Shot 2019-03-17 at 5.48.27 PM.png

Fried Kale Paneer

prep time: 15 minutes.

1570 Calories
142g Fat | 50g Protein | 18g netCarb

ingredients

  • 75 grams of canola oil (around five tablespoons)
  • 320 grams of chopped kale.

I like using a combination of purple and green kale

  • 240 grams of whole milk paneer cheese, cubed.
  • 5 grams of balsamic vinegar (one teaspoon)
  • 15 grams of mayonnaise. (one tablespoon)
  • 7 grams of ketchup (half a tablespoon)
  • 5 grams of yellow mustard (one teaspoon)

IMG_4412.JPG

directions

1- cube the paneer cheese, coat it with canola oil and season as desired. Then cook in an airfryer at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. If you don’t have an air fryer, you can deep fry the cheese in the oil prior to cooking the kale. You can also roast it in the oven at 375 degrees for 15 minutes.

I seasoned mine with a sugar-free BBQ rub.

2- coat a pan with canola oil and heat on medium high.

I love my All-Clad pan, and highly recommend you invest in one.

3- Fry the kale on medium high heat for five minutes, then cover, lower the heat to medium and let cook for an additional ten minutes.
4- remove from heat, mix in the vinegar, ketchup, mayo, and mustard.
5- top with the fried paneer cheese.

enjoy ❤️

IMG_4413.JPG

Friday March 15, 2019.


This is the fifth entry in a keto food journal.
earlier logs: Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4

Sort:  

I usually make Palak tofu, but I’ve never thought about using kale instead of spinach

Quite Innovative recipe.. The pictures are so good. doesnt Kale taste more bitter in pureed form?

Congratulations @ketopian! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61511.66
ETH 2989.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63