Ever get splashed by a killer whale?

in #killerwhale8 years ago

This weekend I took a trip with the family to The Miami Seaquarium.

The weather was nice in Miami for a change. I think we were in the low 80's. And the sun, while strong, didn't feel like a heat lamp right in your face. I didn't even get a sunburn.

We took in the different shows. Saw Flipper the Dolphin do some back flips. Also saw Salty the Seal Lion do his thing.

But the most impressive show was Lolita the Killer Whale. Because when she jumps. Oh man you get wet. 

I was lucky enough to get the water splash in slow motion. So now you get to experience all that water coming at you in slow mo.

Sort:  

I like your video, but I feel sorry for those animals because of the confined environment.

It sucks. Lolita has been there since 1970. And unfortunately she can't be reintroduced into the wild. She's been in captivity way to long. Hopefully we won't see anymore whales in captivity ever again.

We humans are slowly evolving. I swam with dolphins in a big pool in Mexico around 2003. I feel bad about it now, but at the same time it was a wonderful experience.

I know what you feel...sometimes I can't look at a caged animal straight in the eye.

totally cruel ! they should be in the ocean free and wild, not in a pond in captivity- to stop this, people need to stop going to these type of shows! - this is my personal opinion..

Yeah. I think they've stopped whale capture altogether haven't they?
It's a shame she's been in that tank for over 40 years. However releasing her into the wild just isn't possible. She'd probably die by herself if released.

I hope that the whales now in captivity are the last ones. And these sorts of shows will go away. But it is impressive to see them performing. And how they are smart enough to work together with people. Makes you wonder how smart they really are.

agree she wouldn't survive now unfortunately - its a catch 22 situation - if everyone stopped going, which i think should, then what happens to the whales then? food care vet etc , but by going its supporting what these companies are doing, but the whales are still fed and cared for in a warped way. I hate these shows, circuses anything that makes an animal 'perform' something that is unnatural to them - The training given to these creatures is not about them being smart, its can be quite cruel and they are known to suffer mentally. However like you said hopefully these are the last to go through this totutre. People should, in my opinion, go on a whale excursion and see them perform naturally in the wild...

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66021.84
ETH 2981.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70