My Thoughts on the Gerber GDC Money Clip

in #knife6 years ago

This is not my video, but I want to echo and expand upon some points made in this video.

The first thing I have to say is that this is just poorly designed. Your knife should not scratch and wear lines in just for using it in the proper way. That wear mark over time will look like someone took a razor blade and went straight down with it. I get that this a cheapo piece of garbage, but still, even cheap garbage can be designed correctly, and nicely.

7Cr17MoV isn't too bad for knives under $20. It's comparable with other Chinese knives found on DHGate and whatnot. There's really no fault there, and there's not much room to move up in terms of steel for the price point. 8Cr13MoV might be the only real improvement that could be made and still be in the same price point. If you were to cut out all middle-men out and all things unnecessary, and distribute directly from China, you might have been able to get "Chinese D2" for about $20 like the Y-Start JIN02.

Personally, I would never get this, even if it were offered to me for $5. I'm done with U.S. companies in the <$50 price range, whether it is overseas production or produced in the States, and even at the $50 threshold, I'm still looking for better options.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75