My Thoughts on the Gerber Pocket Square

in #knife6 years ago

I'm starting to think this guy really likes Gerber knives...

This is the same guy from before, reviewing yet another Gerber knife. I didn't realize it was the same guy until about halfway through writing this review. It felt like déjà vu. Here's his original video.

My Thoughts:
This knife has a very interesting design. I generally do like things that are pretty much a rectangle, and this fits that bill quite nicely. I find that rectangular folding knives just fit nicer than ones that are all organic and curvy, like most of Ken Onion's knives. I used to have a CRKT Heiho until I sold it to a buddy of mine, and that carried nicely since it was small and it was a rectangle.

The materials are not considered to be too bad. Aluminum scales, 7Cr17MoV. $30ish. It's about right for a U.S. company that outsources to China. Still, a FURA, or TwoSun knife would be in titanium, with caged bearings, over travel stop, and "D2" for about $30ish, sometimes under $30. If we're comparing U.S. company to U.S. company, then this would be comparable to the CRKT Heiho, although different aesthetics, but you're getting about the same materials for the same cost.

I can't say a whole lot on the fit or finish, since I don't actually have one to review. From what it appears, though, is that the knife is hard to open at first. That's to be expected. I'd like to know how long it takes to smooth out, or if it ever does.

At least they got the design right this time. No glaring issues like that last one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72