Kitting a cat ear hat.

in #knitting6 years ago (edited)

So I got some fabulous yarn from a shop which was nice and chunky, which I wanted to begin the blanket with, but seeing as I cannot seem to get thick Yarn here in Orange, I did not want to begin it, as I really want an autumnal blanket with oranges, and browns and reds in it.

I like easy patterns!!

Something for now which does not really need me to buy more kit if I can get away with it, I thought about another hat, yet I see so many videos which are asking for circular needles to be used and I am just getting used to what I have got.

Then I came across an interesting pattern.

I happened to be watching a video of someone who was wearing a hat in the shape of a bears head with ears, wondering if it would be a difficult concept to grasp I decided to check it out and went on the proverbial google to search.

It was not long after I found a pattern from a pinterest picture linked me to a site called cut out and keep I liked the look of the hat and it seemed pretty easy to make so I thought thought I might give it a try.

Of course I altered my version because I was using thicker wool.

My yarn is called Red Heart Lisa Big a nice bright red colour 100% acrylic. And yey it did not use up the whole ball of yarn either.

Here is my version of the pattern

Using 9mm needles

Cast on 40 stitches.

12 Rows of K1 P1 for your rib

Then a further 20 rows R1 K1 then alternate row P1 then back to K1 all the way through.

Cast off.

IMG_2259.JPG

IMG_2260.JPG

Join up the two ends and sew together and then sew the top together till you are left with your hat shape.

Then simply put on and mould the ears and carefully remove and add a few stitches to keep the ears in place.

And voila you have your own cozy hat with added cat ears, super fun and super simple.

IMG_2261.JPG

My hat with cat ears.

IMG_2262.JPG

Its amazingly warm.

IMG_2264.jpg

I love the patterns

So maybe something for you to give a try, I hope you like it thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Nice hat - and lovely yarn color. A nice color warms even better :)

Do you know #needleworkmonday? It's a community of people who love needleworks - knitting, crocheting, sewing, cross stitch... every craft where a needle is involved is welcome. Each monday we show each other (and the world) what we are working on, what we plan to do or what project just has been finished. We comment each others posts and share our knowledge about needlework.

Every Wednesday our community account @needleworkmonday posts a showcase of some of the week's best post. We share our love and passion for the needle arts - and it doesn't have to be a lot of text. A lot of us are not native speakers, our works can talk for us! Why don't you take a look next week when it's #needleworkmonday again?

Hey @muscara thank you so much for your thoughtful comment very much appreciated. I had no idea about the needleworkmonday tag but I will be sure to be checking this out, there is also a show I listen in on mondays in steemit ramble on discord called creatives coffee hour which is for those who do arts and crafts which I have been showing my knitting off to. Just incase you want to let the community know also thanks again for sharing.

I have crocheted a number of the kitty cat hats for friends and fellow activists here in the states. They are really neat and very simple to crochet.

Браво, Крейзи!

Anoter season inspired post coming up your crafts workshop. Looiking at it, just can't be easier. Good job, dear.

I really like that feline hat, @crazybgadventure ! 😻
Thanks for the link as well :D

Hey thanks for the comment no problem at all I just cast on with a thinner yarn and this time 4.5mm needles wish me luck think I might need it.

You will just need more stitches, @crazybgadventure - just adapting the number of stitches to get the same size.

Great job! This is the cutest thing! 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82