Process

in #knitting5 years ago

I have a custom order for a pair of decorated elf slippers. After years of working with the same bag of dyed wool, I really wanted to use a different palette. The customer requested dominant earth tones, so I threw some colors together.

IMG_2445.JPG

To be honest, I like this wool much better than the fiber I dyed for the tour, so I just stripped off a little in order to keep the rest for spinning.

But I'm not sure I've improved on the original effort.

IMG_2446.JPG

But look where it's going!

IMG_2447.JPG

Of course, the needle felting isn't worked in as much. I think this is going to have to sit a bit, and then I can come back with fresh eyes. Input appreciated too!

Sort:  

Sorry, @kimmac I don't know enough about dry felting, but I've done a bit of 'wet' felting - of course that would change the look...

Thanks @cryptocariad! I worked on it last night. It might be looking better. Luckily, it’s easy to remove and add colors.

Good to hear that, @kimmac ! It feels a bit lonely sometimes when you're making something and would like to ask a specific question !! All the best :D

Argh... I have never done any kind of felting, so I am no help. I only can support you by observing, that you always choose/make (in my opinion) beautiful color combinations indifferent if you knit, dye or felt. But I have no idea how differently wool behaves while felting… I hope your ideas work out to your satisfaction.

Thanks @neumannsalva! I have one almost done. The second will be easier because I’ve already committed to colors and design. Having a deadline makes it less fun. That’s probably true for everything though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34