High Knits-Jamie Blanket

in #knitting6 years ago (edited)

Ed started his recovery from PTSD by finishing a blanket he knitted in Afghanistan part two. The Modern Knitters knit prayer shawls for people in need. Ed looked at these shawls like half-ass blankets. He decided, if he’s going to knit something for a person in need, it’s going to be a blanket.

Photo May 08, 9 03 07 PM.jpg

The pot would give him the idea of calling these blankets, “prayer shawls.” There was a person Ed knew in need of some comfort in hard times. The pot told him to knit two shawls and sew them together. Thus, Ed created the “Jamie.”

Photo May 28, 5 37 37 PM.jpg

If interested, Ed would like to share this pattern with you. Cause, the pot told him to.

WARNING: ED IS GOOD AT KNITTING, BUT NOT GOOD AT WRITING AT KNITTING PATTERN. CONSIDER THIS PATTERN A HALF-ASS ATTEMPT.

Yarn: worsted weight

Materials: crochet hook, scissors

Here's a reference to the pattern chart, letting you know which stitch is which.

reference.png
Cast on 5 stitches.

Slip the first stitch before every row. This insure your shawl has a flat top as the bottom create it's point.

You knit 2 sections in one piece. Which is why you have one stitch in the middle. It’s recommended you place 2 stitch markers between the middle stitch, to know which section you're in.

Slip as to purl on the first stitch, then purl across on the wrong side rows.

Follow the set-up round once.

setup.png

Do the pattern repeat for about 8 rounds.

repeatround.png

Once you finish the last row on right side of the pattern repeat, slip to knit on the first stitch. Then you knit across.

Remember those stitch markers? Slip as to knit on the first stitch, then knit to the first stitch marker on the right side. Make one stitch on the left, slip stitch marker. Knit the center stitch slip the stitch marker. Make one stitch on the right, knit to the end. Do the wrong side knit and right side increase knit for 5 rounds.

Bind off on the wrong side of shawl.

Make another shawl.

Photo May 28, 8 33 57 AM.jpg

Crochet the 2 shawl right side together, using a double crochet. So, the seam can match the center stitch of the shawl.

This High Knit is inspired by Joy to the Wool. Remember the fallen and victims of PTSD; KNIT!

Sort:  


Hi @texrex, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Fiber Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Mondays for Creatives' Coffee Hour at 1pm EDT in the Steemit Ramble on Discord.

Thanks, I did knit the blanket. But I'm not Ed. Ed a character from a short story I wrote. I was being creative by using my main character in featuring the knits I've done.

Wow, what a great pattern! You did a great job!
Thanks for sharing how you did it! ♥

Great job on an ambitious lace pattern! I like knitting from a chart--in fact, I won't do lace unless I have a chart. Might be an engineer thing--we like graphs. :)

I've been really good at reading charts in patterns. On the other hand. I've been having a hard time with some patterns with charts. Campside was one of the pattern I had trouble with. Recently, I'm having trouble with Tetrapods. In the end, you slowly get use to it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62