Sailing, Racing, and Cruising

in #knot6 years ago

What Sailing means to Me

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

photostudio_1520085124999.jpg

I've been sailing since I can remember, and what I do remember is sailing with my dad on his 18' sloop.
By the time I was a teenager that sloop was by all practical purposes mine, and my friends and I had lots of fun sailing it.

I started windsurfing in high school, and sort of fell into the wrong sport because I would skip school whenever the winds got strong.
Windsurfing is the pinnacle of the sport to me.
"Now" is all that exists when I speed along on my short board at over 25knts.

Cruising came natural for me, as a young man I was eager to travel, meet new people, and experience new things.
The first four years of my adult life was spent cruising on a small motor less sailboat.

Discovering new places and people is what makes cruising fun.
I find Cruising the most stressful because I am sailing my home, and I always consider the worst case scenario.

Then I got married and started racing with my friends at the Yacht Club.
The comradery and competition make racing the most exciting form of sailing.

Lately I have been cruising to stay warm, travel, and possibly find a place to retire on land and build boats...

So that I can leisurely sail around for a few hours, and return to a house the doesn't move, a shop that is full of equipment and tools, My Beautiful Wife, a dog, and a cat :)

Sort:  

I wish i got into sailing a decade ago - the first time i was introduced to it... instead i dragged it in my mind for a long time... but no more

Are you just getting started?
What boat are you starting on?
I think small boats are the most fun.

i'm looking for 30 footer. I sailed before, but didnt take it seriously for a long time - just participated in a couple regattas (i was in-charge of the spinnaker) but never took the helm... and last year I finally took an ASA course and now i sail as much as i can (still as crew), until im able to afford a sailboat for myself.

I wish you the best for your boat search.

If you post the boats you are looking at/for, I would love to see them and comment on them.

That's a great idea, i will, thank you!

hey buddy i have a sailboat too :)

I checked out you post, very cool.
Are you in Hawaii?
I noticed one of your photos with jackets and caps on, looks cold.

a bit of back and forth im in seattle looking to cross to hawaii this summer

Cruising to stay warm sounds like a good occupation to me. Perhaps I can take over for you. haha.

I've wished to have clone of myself, so that I could swap with my clone and do other things while he takes care of the boat.
Idle boats are expensive.

You are lucky to be sailing from when you are young - I am only just discovering this new way of being close to my favourite kind of nature. I am excited to travel the oceans in the comfort of my own home, but know that I will feel the same about worrying more because my home is with me!

Hi @beveryting how are you? Really cool post about your passion for sailing man ! I would like to connect with other cool steemians, artists and musicians. I’m posting music tutorials and other things related to music (and bitcoins:p). I’m the founder of the free music school communicasound. I'm really pleased to meet you. So i give you my vote, follow you and i will be happy to read your next posts in the futur. If you want, you can do the same and follow me. It’s important to have a family in Steemit :) Greetings from Paris. Peace.

Of course I love music.
Nice to meet you.
I'll be following you and look forward to learning more about music.

i'm glad to connect with you and hope to help you learn more music knowledge. Peace. Lio

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75