Steemit Sailing S..M...Wednesdays?

in #knot6 years ago

sailing sunday.jpg

Summer is screwing up my schedule a little bit so here is a little Sunday on Thursday.

I got back out on the boat last night for some sailing. Here is the adventure in a handy picture book!

IMG_3560.jpg

It was a hot drive in and I am low on fuel as well as short on time so I make the trek on fumes and no air conditioning.

IMG_3561.jpg

On the drive in, I am seeing thunderheads over the lake so it might just be an interesting sail if winds are whipping around.

IMG_3562.jpg

The lads know it is a long drive in and toss me a beer as I get on board. Simply watery brew with not much to it but I am no looking a gift horse in the mouth.

IMG_3563.jpg

A smaller fleet out today and they are doing more bobbing around than actual sailing. As we approach the fleet, Skipper is shaking his head as he surveys the course and wind.....or lack thereof. Seeing a boat trying to make tracks with a spinnaker up, he says, "While I admire their enthusiasm, I will disagree with their optimism in the wind department."

IMG_3564.jpg

The view of Toronto is neat from this angle. You can see a few other fleets out enjoying the weather if you open the image in a new tab to zoom in.

IMG_3567.jpg

When they ask me if I am up for raising the head sail, I tell them that while I admire their enthusiasm, they can politely go F themselves.

IMG_3572.jpg

They actually start a race but 10 minutes after the start, the fleet is barely crossing the start line so BANG-BANG-BANG and the race is called off in favour of some on shore BBQ.

IMG_3573.jpg

It is in low wind times like this that you get the best stories. AAAANDAAAAYYYY (as is the only way to pronounce it) tells us a story about shift work. "......and by the time I got to work, I was more than half in the bag. That would have been fine enough except we had a large failure on the line and it was my job to fix it. So, I got to the station, put a bucket right under what I had to fix, and did absolutely nothing for 2 hours while I sobered up. Oh yah that was a fun place to work. After we finished our shift, we used to hang out in the parking lot and drink a few beers as shift ended in the middle of the night. We had a great time and used to throw all our empty cans on the roof. Well, one windy day, we realized the folly of our ways when a couple months worth of cans blew off the roof and completely covered the whole front lawn of the place. We didn't throw our cans on the roof after that......"

Until next week, stay thirsty and sail on my friends.

thanks for reading.jpg

Knot-01_240.jpg

Sort:  

Hahah! If I was rich, I would have a lot more STEEM!

Shame about the low winds but at least the weather was great. How long have you been sailing man?

Yah it doesn't matter much how much wind there is sometimes. A break from business in the middle of the week to get off the land is worth it.

Sailing 15 years or so I guess. It was the subject of one of my original blog posts https://steemit.com/sailing/@zekepickleman/sailing-how-i-got-started-an-why-you-should-too

I still feel new but we have won a lot of regattas in recent years. You sail?

For sure - great to be out on the water. Nice one for the regatta wins - that's impressive.

Sailing is one of the few outdoorsy things I haven't tried yet. My friend has invited me to sail his 2-man on our local lake a few times but I haven't found the time. Hopefully soon, though.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 85 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Haha well thank you very much Mr Pig bot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99