Cloth Pads - Attempt 1 & 2

in #knownassam6 years ago

Basic biological processes in women. We all know what they are, so this time around I thought I'd make some cloth pads to save money and make a healthier option for my body and the environment.

Attempt #1

DSC_0001


The first one I made was just to try out the size, see how it fit. See how well the PUL fabric worked.

DSC_0002


Top is flanellette, bottom is PUL fabric.

DSC_0003


I had put one layer of cotton batting in the middle and sewed it through - normally you wouldn't do this as it compromises the PUL fabric by putting holes in it so it can leak through, but it was a quick thing and I was just experimenting.

DSC_0004

Attempt Number 2

DSC_0005


I cut a few pieces of flanellette, one for the top and one for the back.

DSC_0006


I cut some PUL fabric for the middle, behind the cotton insert.

DSC_0007


Next I cut cotton batting and some material to line the back of the batting.

DSC_0008


Next the sewing! I edged the cotton batting and cotton material together, plus put a zig zag down the middle to help keep the batting in place.

DSC_0009


Next I sewed the batting piece to the top layer of the pad.

DSC_0010


DSC_0011


DSC_0012


I then put the 3 layers together and wewed leaving a space open on the flap to turn it inside out.

DSC_0013


I then pinned the flap in and sewed around the pad to hold everything in place.

DSC_0014


Now just for the snaps!

DSC_0015


DSC_0016


DSC_0017

All done!
So far this thing is super comfortable, hlds a good lot - although I would consider this a medium flow pad and it fits quite nicely.
A win in my books!

Sort:  

Neat! I am curious how you launder these. Thanks for sharing. -Aimee

Just throw them in tge wash and hang to dry :)

Just throw them in the wash and hang to dry :)

Just throw them in the wash and hang to dry :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66306.00
ETH 3012.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70