I am a bird man.

in #kookaburra6 years ago (edited)

I love birds.

Here in Australia I have rescued several pigeons. Did you know that pigeons have better eyesight than humans? They can zoom in on an object much the way we can do with a magnifying glass.

I have rescued a sacred ibis. When you do this you have to do it illegally as both pigeons and bin chickens are considered pests and are culled not rescued. I enjoy breaking this "law".

Today I had the pleasure of giving a wild kookaburra a neck rub. That is a first for me.

When I was a bit younger I had a wild Rainbow setup up on my finger.

It seems that birds pick up on fear and if you are not scared they are inclined not to fear us either. What do you reckon?

Pat.jpg

Sort:  

That's awesome you've helped birds considered pests. :) I've done similar with animals where I live though unfortunately they didn't survive. I agree though, that is one law that I feel okay breaking. Especially when it's humans that are often the ones harming these animals and putting them in danger in the first place.
It's always nice to see people like yourself sticking up for the animals who can't speak our language and are often at human mercy. Thanks for being such an awesome soul and glad to see you're still posting on here!
Also cool pic and that's dope you got to give the bird a neck rub! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66416.78
ETH 3082.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68