House warming partysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #korea6 years ago

Having now lived in South Korea for nearly 4 months, we thought it was about time to have a flat warming party and combine it with my mother in law's birthday. Just some of my wife's family, as I don't know that many people here as yet (and my Korean is coming along very slowly).

20180909_134803.jpg
I had to include the cake first, we bought it in the morning, and I'd been starring at it until people arrived. It looked so tasty. Didn't help that I had been on a diet for a few weeks now. Yum.

For those who don't know, I intend on living in Korea for around a year. The reason being I have poorly neglected teeth and that's how long it'll take to have all the necessary work done. We thought why not have an extended holiday somewhere that has a great dental reputation, as I didn't want to have the work done in the UK. Unless you pay to attend the best dental practices, my experience has not been great in London.

So first the flat! As we are only staying until next summer, we don't see the point on wasting money on buying much furniture. So essentials only!

1536462772040.jpg
A table, tv and laptop, what more can any lounge/dinning room need :)

20180909_120708.jpg
A bedroom, so what more do you need but... a bed!

There is of course a kitchen, shower room and a spare room, but you get the idea. The basics only.

We ate downstairs, as our building block has some great restaurants in it. The food was amazing.

20180909_125336.jpg
Everyone getting stuck in

As always one of my nieces got all the attention and was the true star of the show.

20180909_123710.jpg
At the head of the table where I belong!

20180909_124240-COLLAGE.jpg
Time to test this delicious food

Back to the flat for the most important part, the cake...

20180909_135237.jpg
Those candles look crooked

20180909_135922.jpg
and the cake is duly demolished

It was a great day. Everyone was relaxed, ate well and for those not driving plenty of drinks. Most of all there was cake!

I hope you enjoyed sharing my day, if so please feel free to upvote, follow or even resteem.

Thanks for dropping by.

Sort:  

that cake looks awesome and I bet it tasted as good as it looks.

Congratulations @chaomos! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks for giving us an insight into your family life in South Korea.

I thought it would make a change than purely fishing. Especially as the fishing season will be over in a couple of weeks due to poor weather conditions. Winter is freezing in Korea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60752.39
ETH 2904.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73