What's In Your Travel Bag?

in #kr7 years ago (edited)

the-package-deo-paekiji-1.jpg


I just finished watching The Package. A South Korean drama about a pack of travelers in France with their own stories. Although this is fairly short, I still enjoyed it mainly because I was trying to get to know each character thoroughly. I am a sucker for anything relating to family, and this one hits home.

In the last episode, the main lead asked her Boss for a vacation. They have a good relationship, so her Boss allowed her although she was supposed to handle another group of travelers as their tour guide. Before leaving, her boss gave her extra cash and told her to buy a new travel bag along with these words:

"What does a travel bag mean to you? If you pack a bag, you'll learn who you are.
It's not just about picking some clothes. You will realize what you like the most. And what you're the most scared of. You'll also realize what you have to give up. And you will learn what you mustn't give up. What do you think? Buy a new bag and pack your things. If you do, you'll learn who you are. And you will also realize where it is that you want to go."

So So's Travel Agency Boss

Sung Dong Il as So So's boss. He is my most favorite Korean veteran actor.


It made me remember the night I packed my things for Dubai. Aside from the clothes I needed for work, I also packed some clothes for casual days. It made me realize how simple my style is. I usually go for a simple blouse without much print going on paired with black pants. As for footwear, I usually go for a pair of slippers, or if I feel a little fancy, I go for ballet shoes. And that's pretty much it! Take note that most of my stuff are from ukay-ukay or a thrift store. But I have changed for the better. I like looking good now.

What made me crazy is when I started sorting out my art materials and books. Is it okay to bring these oil paint tubes? How about these huge jar of Gesso? Should I bring most of my art books? How about my big and heavy photobooks? Questions, questions, and more questions. At the end of everything, I ended up bringing only one art book about Vermeer because they used some of my baggage allowance and I couldn't say no.

  • What I like most ― Making art.
  • What I'm most scared of ― Not being able to do my art.
  • What I gave up ― Art (materials.)
  • What I mustn't give up ― Art (materials.)

Although I came to Dubai with the hopes of pursuing what I love the most, the inevitable happened and I stopped doing what I love completely. I managed to buy art materials though, which I only enjoyed using after I quit my job. Despite of everything that's happened, I am still drawing and I am a lot braver now to follow and direct my heart to where it's supposed to go.

As Carl Sandburg once said, "I don't know where I'm going, but I'm on my way." If you asked me 2 years ago what this quote meant to me, I probably will only disappoint you. It would sound like I am nothing but a lost sheep, and although that may sound like me from time to time, the woman I have become is a lot determined now and is quite a navigator of life.

How about you? What's in your travel bag?

I am curious to know. Comment them down below if you fancy. Namaste, stranger!


ablckbrd.jpg

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ablckbrd to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thanks for the korean drama suggestion. I am going to find this and download. I think we are always on journey to rediscover our own self. That's why life is always work in progress till it ends :)

Exactly! :) I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! And if you're at it, try watching Reply 1988 as well. It's a heart-warming story of friendship, love, and family. It's my most favorite Kdrama to date!

Now two suggestions added to the list. I like KDrama so I guess my next weekend has lot of good to watch. Thanks for recommendation much appreciated :)

You're welcome! :) Tell me what you think after watching them. I'd be happy to recommend more.

Yes definitely. Thank you :)

Yonghwa babbyyy

Hahaha yes! Gnahan ko bsta sa RomCom si Yonghwa kay gnhan kos awkward face niya, hahaha!

I love him to bits promise.

CNBlue is one of my fave Korean bands! Hihi Their songs are really good! :)

Not trashy. I love love light so much.

Meanwhile my travel bag is filled with necessary stuff like clothes and other stuff. But I bring a lot of unnecessary stuff too such as pencils, color pencils and a sketch pad.

But bb, those arent unnecessary. :)

They say it is unneccesary. Please be on discord huhu

wa na kaayo ko gana, besh kay di nasad ko ga-function, haha. ill try. :) unsay naa? yestrday kay Pinoy henyo. I joined kadjot, then hawa na dayun.

Ay bese day kaaaa.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70971.83
ETH 3830.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.41