[kr][en] [적당히 낯선 생활 #3] [Our Unusual Day #3] 나의 세계는 참 작구나 How small is my world

in #kr6 years ago

travel_cover.png

런던의 우리 동네, Walthamstow


"Josh, 이 동네에 괜찮은 식당 있으면 추천해줄 수 있어요?"
"역 근처에 괜찮은 식당이 많아요. 역 근처로 나가봐요."

아침 7시쯤 런던에 도착했지만 12시가 되도록 한 끼도 못 먹은 상태였다. 두 캐리어에 가득 채워 온 한 달 간의 살림살이를 계속 들고 다닐 수는 없었다. 일단 짐을 풀어놓으려면 숙소로 이동해야 했다. 첫 번째 만날 호스트 Josh와 Hattie네 집은 런던 시가지에서도 한참 떨어진 런던 외곽, 월덤스토우 Walthamstow에 있었다.

역에서 집까지는 15분 남짓의 거리. 그래도 외곽의 한적한 동네에 숙소를 잡은 건 잘한 일이었다고, 영국 가정집들이 많으니 '생활'에는 더 좋겠다며 너스레를 떨었다. 열대여섯 시간 비행, 손에 들린 20킬로그램의 짐, 우리 집을 찾는 알 수 없는 여정…. 사실 이 모든 것에서 오는 피로에 머리마저 지끈거렸지만, 기대를 놓지 않으려 애를 썼다. 여행의 첫날, 시작부터 우울할 수는 없었다.

집은 멀기만 했다. 정확히 말하면, 멀게만 느껴졌다. 목적지를 알지 못하고 걷는 길은 늘 길게 느껴지는 법이니까. 더더구나 거리에는 구분할 수 없을 정도로 똑같은 생김의 집들이 일렬로 줄지어 서있었고, 그런 거리에서 우리 집을 찾는 일은 아득하기만 했다. 거의 초주검 상태에서 도착한 숙소. 수더분한 차림으로 집주인 Josh가 우리를 맞았다. 마음 같아선 한 숨 자고 싶었지만 일단 동네 투어에 나서기로 했다. 무엇보다 배가 너무 고파 견딜 수가 없었다.

Walthamstow, Our town in London


“Josh, could you recommend any good restaurants in this town?”
“There are many good restaurants near the station.”

Our flight arrived at London at around 7 in the morning, but my husband and I had not eaten anything until 12. We could not carry on the journey any longer with two large baggages for a month living in our hands. We wanted to get to the house so bad, so that we could unpack our things as soon as possible. However, the house of our hosts, Josh and Hattie, was in Walthamstow, which was located quite far from the central of London.

The house was about 15 minutes walking distance from the Walthamstow station. Still, we talked to ourselves that it was a good thing to settle down a secluded suburban neighborhood, because it seemed to be more suitable for the concept of ‘living.’ 16-17 hours of flight, a 20kg baggage in one hand and a backpack on the back, and completely unfamiliar roads to the house...even though I was exhausted from all these things, I tried to keep my hopes up. It was the first day of the travel, and I could not be depressed from the beginning.

The house was quite far away to go, though. To be precise, it 'felt' far. Because it usually feels farther to get to somewhere when you don't know exactly where it is. Besides, the streets were lined up in rows of identical houses that were indistinguishable to us, and finding our home on such streets was so difficult. When We finally arrived at the house, we were so exhausted. Josh, one of the hosts, welcomed us and got us into the house. Though I wanted to take a nap right away, we decided to take a short tour around the town. Above all, I could not bear any more moment without taking a bite.

국적 불명의 도시?

짐을 내려놓은 것만으로 기분이 좋아졌다. 우리의 일정이 드디어 시작된 것만 같았다. Josh의 안내대로 역을 지나쳐 월덤스토우 시내로 가는 길. 이제야 풍경이 눈에 들어왔다. 우리가 꿈에 그리던 영국을 걷고 있다니! 24시간 전만 떠올려봐도 믿을 수 없는 현실이었다. 내딛는모든 걸음이 의미로 다가왔다. 모든 것을 사진으로 남기고 싶어 여행 전 큰 맘먹고 구입한 카메라를 이리저리 눌렀다.

그런데 뭔가 이상했다. 아무리 처음 온 도시라지만 이다지도 생경하다니. 영화며 텔레비전이며, 이제껏 내가 보았던 런던의 풍경과는 조금 다른 것 같았다. 어쩌면 중동의 어느 도시나, 인도의 어느 동네 같기도 했고, 사실 그 어느 곳도 아닌 것 같았다. 인도 여행에서 봤을 법한 디자인의 음식점이 보인다 싶더니, 인도풍의 여성복 전문점이 잇따라 나타났고, 시내로 나서니 정육점이며 마트며, ‘Halal할랄'이라고 굳이 써놓은 것이 눈에 띄었다. 천천히 고개를 돌려 거리를 훑었다. 눈이 커다랗고 까무잡잡한 얼굴들, 히잡을 쓴 여인들이 가득한 거리.

"여기 진짜 런던 맞아?"

영원에게 속닥이듯 물으며, 잡은 손을 꼭 쥐었다. 내가 모르는 도시. 나의 세계에는 없는 풍경. 낯 모르는 공간에서 오는 두려움이 슬쩍 밀려왔다.

The City of Unknown Nationality?

It felt much better by just putting the luggage down. It seemed that our travel had finally begun. We went down past the station to go to the central of Walthomstow, according to Josh' recommendation. Then, finally I got to see the scenery and all that, and it just hit me. 'I'm walking on a street in England!' It felt so unreal when I reminded myself where I was only 24 hours earlier. Suddenly, every step I was taking became meaningful. I started to press the shutter relentlessly, of the camera I bought right before leaving, to capture every moment.

But something felt very strange. Even though I was a first timer in London, it looked too unfamiliar. It was very different from the scenery of London that I know of from movies and television shows. It seemed I was in a city somewhere in the Middle East, maybe a town in India, or, in fact, neither of them. I saw a restaurant with a exterior of that I have seen in India, and I also saw a series of Indian women's clothing shops, and then there were many butcher's, hanging signs with 'Halal food'. I slowly turned my head and looked at the street carefully. The streets were crowded with women with big eyes and dark skins, wearing hijabs.

"Is this really London?"

I whispered to my husband, gripping his hands tightly with mine. A city I did not know. A sight that was not from my world. A total strange place pushed me a bit with a wave of fear.

영국 다움은 누가 정했나

수트 Suit를 쫙 빼입은 런더너 Londoner. 패션피플 Fashion-People들의 경쾌한 발걸음. 우중충한 날씨와 잘 어울리는 트래디셔널 Traditional 하고 에지 Edge 있는 건물들. 트렌디 Trendy 한 상점들이 가득한 팬시 Fancy 한 거리.

막연하게 생각했던 영국이었다. 나의 작은 머릿속에서 그렸던 '나의 영국'은 네버랜드와 같은 곳. 실제로는 만날 수 없는 공간이었다. 월덤스토우 아래까지 계속 이어지는 길을 천천히 따라 걸었다. 활기 있게 시장을 누비는 사람들, 학교에서 집으로 돌아가는 아이들. 공원에서 한가로이 산책하는 연인들. 낯설게만 느껴졌던 그들의 일상이 보였다. 런던이라는 터 위에, 그들이 일군 생활이 단단하게 자리 잡고 있었다.

그제야 나는 알았다. 나의 영국에는 없었던 그 모든 것들 또한 이 거대한 나라 영국의 일부라는 것을. 사실 내가 두려웠던 것은 '낯선 그것들'이 아니라 나의 세계의 편협함이었다. 나의 작음을 발견하는 것, 나의 편견이 까발려지는 일. 그것은 무척이나 두렵고 불쾌한 경험이었다. 하지만 나의 세계는 깨져야만 했다. 한 달간의 진실한 생활을 마주하기 위해서, 그리고 더 넓은 나를 만들기 위해서. 나의 작은 세계를 벗어나는 것. 이번 여행이 나에게 던져준 또 다른 숙제였다.

Who decided what ‘British’ is

Londoners with fine suits. ‘Fashionable people’ walking briskly down the roads. Traditional and classy buildings that match the gloomy weather. Fancy streets, filled with trendy shops.

That was how I thought of Britain before. ‘My Britain’ was a ‘Neverland’ in a way in my small mind. It was not a place I could actually go. As I walked down the road of Walthamstow slowly, I saw people walking briskly in market streets, children going home from school, and couples peacefully walking in the park. I could see the daily life they were having. The lives firmly established on the ground called London.

I finally realized it then. All those things and people, which were not in 'my Britain,' were also parts of this one huge country. In fact, what I was afraid of was not those new and strange things, but the bigotry of me and my world. Realizing my smallness and exposing my prejudices was a dreadful and uncomfortable experience. But my world needed to be broken to live a true life of a month there, and to make me bigger person than I was before. 'To get out of my small world.' That was another mission this travel gave me.


DSC00200.jpg히드로 공항에서 지하철을 기다리며. 경유 포함 29시간을 날아왔다.


DSC00219.jpg 월덤스토우로 가는 런던의 언더그라운드


DSC00226.jpg월덤스토우 거리의 과일가게, 시내로 들어서자마자 싱그러운 빛깔이 우리를 반겼다.


DSC00239.jpg식당에서 만난 귀여운 아기. 바라보는 것만으로 미소를 짓게 된다.

Sort:  

앗.. 이제 영국 생활기(?)가 시작되면 보람님 글을 자주 볼 수 있는건가요? :-)

X-D 더 부지런히 써야 하는데, 이래저래 핑계가 많네요 ㅎㅎ 자주 뵐 수 있도록 노력할게요. 감사합니닷~!

제가 처음 영국에 와서 느꼈던 감정과 비슷해서 몰입해서 읽어내려갔어요. 제게도 영국, 특히 런던은 생각보다 복잡하고, 더럽고, 여러모로 다양한 문화의 나라였거든요. 근데 그 다양성 자체가 이미 런던스러움인 것 같아요. 다른 유럽 국가에선 느끼지 못하는 글로벌함! 저는 Walthamstow 몇번 지명만 들어보고 가보진 않았는데 왠지 무슨 느낌이셨을지 상상이 돼요ㅎㅎ 글 너무 읽기 편하게 잘 쓰셔서 계속 읽고 싶어요. 앞으로의 글도 기대할게요:)

와! 영국에 사시는군요!! 영국 여행하면서 영국에서 잠깐이라도 살아보고 싶다고 노래를 불렀는데, 부럽습니다 X-)! 글 기대해주셔서 감사해요. @eugenenote 님의 영국이야기도 궁금하네요! 저도 팔로우하겠습니다!!

Congratulations @bburi.boram! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bburi.boram! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61587.45
ETH 2890.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43