(100%) The Devoted Friend (2)

in #kr5 years ago (edited)

본 글은 지적활동증명(Proof of Brain) 워크시트입니다. 참여를 위해서는 반드시 번역 가이드를 읽으세요.


[36E] ✔︎ “‘Well, really,’ cried Hans, ‘it is very good of you to ask, very good indeed. I am afraid I had rather a hard time of it, but now the spring has come, and I am quite happy, and all my flowers are doing well.’

[37E] ✔︎ “‘We often talked of you during the winter, Hans,’ said the Miller, ‘and wondered how you were getting on.’

[38E] ✔︎ “‘That was kind of you,’ said Hans; ‘I was half afraid you had forgotten me.’

[39E] ✔︎ “‘Hans, I am surprised at you,’ said the Miller; ‘friendship never forgets. That is the wonderful thing about it, but I am afraid you don’t understand the poetry of life. How lovely your primroses are looking, by-the-bye!’

[40E] ✔︎ “‘They are certainly very lovely,’ said Hans, ‘and it is a most lucky thing for me that I have so many. I am going to bring them into the market and sell them to the Burgomaster’s daughter, and buy back my wheelbarrow with the money.’

[41E] ✔︎ “‘Buy back your wheelbarrow? You don’t mean to say you have sold it? What a very stupid thing to do!’

[42E] ✔︎ “‘Well, the fact is,’ said Hans, ‘that I was obliged to. You see the winter was a very bad time for me, and I really had no money at all to buy bread with. So I first sold the silver buttons off my Sunday coat, and then I sold my silver chain, and then I sold my big pipe, and at last I sold my wheelbarrow. But I am going to buy them all back again now.’

[43E] ✔︎ “‘Hans,’ said the Miller, ‘I will give you my wheelbarrow. It is not in very good repair; indeed, one side is gone, and there is something wrong with the wheel-spokes; but in spite of that I will give it to you. I know it is very generous of me, and a great many people would think me extremely foolish for parting with it, but I am not like the rest of the world. I think that generosity is the essence of friendship, and, besides, I have got a new wheelbarrow for myself. Yes, you may set your mind at ease, I will give you my wheelbarrow.’

[44E] ✔︎ “‘Well, really, that is generous of you,’ said little Hans, and his funny round face glowed all over with pleasure. ‘I can easily put it in repair, as I have a plank of wood in the house.’

[45E] ✔︎ “‘A plank of wood!’ said the Miller; ‘why, that is just what I want for the roof of my barn. There is a very large hole in it, and the corn will all get damp if I don’t stop it up. How lucky you mentioned it! It is quite remarkable how one good action always breeds another. I have given you my wheel-barrow, and now you are going to give me your plank. Of course, the wheelbarrow is worth far more than the plank, but true friendship never notices things like that. Pray get it at once, and I will set to work at my barn this very day.’

[46E] ✔︎ “‘Certainly,’ cried little Hans, and he ran into the shed and dragged the plank out.

[47E] ✔︎ “‘It is not a very big plank,’ said the Miller, looking at it; ‘and I am afraid that after I have mended my barn-roof there won’t be any left for you to mend the wheel-barrow with; but, of course, that is not my fault. And now, as I have given you my wheelbarrow, I am sure you would like to give me some flowers in return. Here is the basket, and mind you fill it quite full.’

[48E] ✔︎ “‘Quite full?’ said little Hans, rather sorrowfully, for it was really a very big basket, and he knew that if he filled it he would have no flowers left for the market, and he was very anxious to get his silver buttons back.

[49E] ✔︎ “‘Well, really,’ answered the Miller, ‘as I have given you my wheelbarrow, I don’t think that it is much to ask you for a few flowers. I may be wrong, but I should have thought that friendship, true friendship, was quite free from selfishness of any kind.’

[50E] ✔︎ “‘My dear friend, my best friend,’ cried little Hans, ‘you are welcome to all the flowers in my garden. I would much sooner have your good opinion than my silver buttons, any day;’ and he ran and plucked all his pretty primroses, and filled the Miller’s basket.

[51E] ✔︎ “‘Good-bye, little Hans,’ said the Miller, as he went up the hill with the plank on his shoulder, and the big basket in his hand.

[52E] ✔︎ “‘Good-bye,’ said little Hans, and he began to dig away quite merrily, he was so pleased about the wheelbarrow.

[53E] ✔︎ “The next day he was nailing up some honeysuckle against the porch, when he heard the Miller’s voice calling to him from the road. So he jumped off the ladder, and ran down the garden, and looked over the wall.

[54E] ✔︎ “There was the Miller with a large sack of flour on his back.

[55E] ✔︎ “‘Dear little Hans,’ said the Miller, ‘would you mind carrying this sack of flour for me to market?’

[56E] ✔︎ “‘Oh, I am so sorry,’ said Hans, ‘but I am really very busy to-day. I have got all my creepers to nail up, and all my flowers to water, and all my grass to roll.’

[57E] ✔︎ “‘Well, really,’ said the Miller, ‘I think that, considering that I am going to give you my wheelbarrow, it is rather unfriendly of you to refuse.’

[58E] ✔︎ “‘Oh, don’t say that,’ cried little Hans, ‘I wouldn’t be unfriendly for the whole world;’ and he ran in for his cap, and trudged off with the big sack on his shoulders.

[59E] ✔︎ “It was a very hot day, and the road was terribly dusty, and before Hans had reached the sixth milestone he was so tired that he had to sit down and rest. However, he went on bravely, and at last he reached the market. After he had waited there some time, he sold the sack of flour for a very good price, and then he returned home at once, for he was afraid that if he stopped too late he might meet some robbers on the way.

[60E] ✔︎ “‘It has certainly been a hard day,’ said little Hans to himself as he was going to bed, ‘but I am glad I did not refuse the Miller, for he is my best friend, and, besides, he is going to give me his wheelbarrow.’

[61E] ✔︎ “Early the next morning the Miller came down to get the money for his sack of flour, but little Hans was so tired that he was still in bed.

[62E] ✔︎ “‘Upon my word,’ said the Miller, ‘you are very lazy. Really, considering that I am going to give you my wheelbarrow, I think you might work harder. Idleness is a great sin, and I certainly don’t like any of my friends to be idle or sluggish. You must not mind my speaking quite plainly to you. Of course I should not dream of doing so if I were not your friend. But what is the good of friendship if one cannot say exactly what one means? Anybody can say charming things and try to please and to flatter, but a true friend always says unpleasant things, and does not mind giving pain. Indeed, if he is a really true friend he prefers it, for he knows that then he is doing good.’

[63E] ✔︎ “‘I am very sorry,’ said little Hans, rubbing his eyes and pulling off his nightcap, ‘but I was so tired that I thought I would lie in bed for a little time, and listen to the birds singing. Do you know that I always work better after hearing the birds sing?’

[64E] ✔︎ “‘Well, I am glad of that,’ said the Miller, clapping little Hans on the back, ‘for I want you to come up to the mill as soon as you are dressed, and mend my barn-roof for me.’

[65E] ✔︎ “Poor little Hans was very anxious to go and work in his garden, for his flowers had not been watered for two days, but he did not like to refuse the Miller, as he was such a good friend to him.

[66E] ✔︎ “‘Do you think it would be unfriendly of me if I said I was busy?’ he inquired in a shy and timid voice.

[67E] ✔︎ “‘Well, really,’ answered the Miller, ‘I do not think it is much to ask of you, considering that I am going to give you my wheelbarrow; but of course if you refuse I will go and do it myself.’

[68E] ✔︎ “‘Oh! on no account,’ cried little Hans; and he jumped out of bed, and dressed himself, and went up to the barn.

[69E] ✔︎ “He worked there all day long, till sunset, and at sunset the Miller came to see how he was getting on.

[70E] ✔︎ “‘Have you mended the hole in the roof yet, little Hans?’ cried the Miller in a cheery voice.

Sort:  

[62]“‘아이고.’ 밀러가 말했어. ‘너 무척 게으르구나. 내가 외바퀴 손수레를 주기로 한 걸 생각해 보면 말이다, 정말이지 좀 더 부지런해야 한다고 생각한단다. 게으름은 큰 죄야. 난 내 친구가 게으르거나 굼뜬 건 정말 싫어. 내가 이렇게 솔직하게 말하는 걸 언짢아하면 안된단다. 물론 내가 네 친구가 아니라면 그렇게 할 생각은 말아야겠지. 하지만 솔직하고 정확하게 말하지 못한다면 우정이란 게 무슨 소용이겠니? 누구나 듣기 좋은 말을 할 수 있고, 즐겁게 해줄 수 있고, 아첨을 떨 수도 있지만 말이다, 진정한 친구는 언제나 불편한 것들을 말하고, 상처를 주는 것도 개의치 않는 법이란다. 정말이지, 진정한 친구라면 자신이 좋은 일을 하고 있다는 걸 알기 때문에 더욱 그러고 싶어 할 거야.’

[62E] “‘아이고.’ 밀러가 말했어. ‘너 무척 게으르구나. 내가 외바퀴 손수레를 주기로 한 걸 생각해 보면 말이다, 정말이지 좀 더 부지런해야 한다고 생각한단다. 게으름은 큰 죄야. 난 내 친구가 게으르거나 굼뜬 건 정말 싫어. 내가 이렇게 솔직하게 말하는 걸 언짢아하면 안된단다. 물론 내가 네 친구가 아니라면 그렇게 할 생각은 말아야겠지. 하지만 솔직하고 정확하게 말하지 못한다면 우정이란 게 무슨 소용이겠니? 누구나 듣기 좋은 말을 할 수 있고, 즐겁게 해줄 수 있고, 아첨을 떨 수도 있지만 말이다, 진정한 친구는 언제나 불편한 것들을 말하고, 상처를 주는 것도 개의치 않는 법이란다. 정말이지, 진정한 친구라면 자신이 좋은 일을 하고 있다는 걸 알기 때문에 더욱 그러고 싶어 할 거란다.’

[62E] “방앗간 친구가 말했지 ‘세상에. 너는 정말 게으르구나. 내가 외바퀴 손수레를 주기로 한 걸 생각해 보면 말이지 좀 더 부지런해야 한다고 생각한단다. 게으름은 큰 죄야. 난 내 친구가 게으르거나 굼뜨는 건 정말 싫어. 내가 이렇게 솔직하게 말한다고 해서 너무 기분 나빠 하지 말게. 물론 내가 친구가 아니라면 솔직하게 말할 생각도 하지 않을거야. 하지만 솔직하고 말하지 못한다면 우정이란 게 무슨 소용이겠나? 누구나 듣기 좋은 말로 즐겁게 하고, 아첨을 떨 수는 있지만, 진정한 친구는 언제나 불편한 것들을 말하고, 상처를 주는 것도 개의치 않는 법이지. 정말이지, 진정한 친구라면 그렇게 하는 걸 선호할테지 그게 더 친구를 위하는 일이니까.’

[45]“‘나무판자라니!’ 밀러가 말했어. ‘아니, 헛간 지붕을 고치려고 마침 찾고 있었거든. 지붕에 큰 구멍이 났단다. 구멍을 막지 않으면 곡물이 전부 축축해질 거야. 네가 정말 말을 잘했다! 역시 인과응보로구나. 내가 외바퀴 손수레를 줬으니, 이제는 네가 나무판자를 주거라. 물론, 외바퀴 손수레가 나무판자보다 훨씬 비싸지만 말이다. 하지만 진정한 우정은 그런 것들을 전혀 개의치 않지. 어서 가져다주렴. 오늘 바로 헛간을 고쳐야겠구나.’

[45E] “‘나무판자라니!’ 밀러가 말했어. ‘아니, 헛간 지붕을 고치려고 마침 찾고 있었거든. 지붕에 큰 구멍이 났단다. 구멍을 막지 않으면 곡물이 전부 축축해질 거야. 네가 정말 말을 잘했다! 역시 인과응보로구나. 내가 외바퀴 손수레를 줬으니, 이제는 네가 나무판자를 주거라. 물론, 외바퀴 손수레가 나무판자보다 훨씬 비싸지만 말이다. 하지만 진정한 우정은 그런 것들을 전혀 개의치 않지. 어서 가져다주렴. 오늘 바로 헛간을 고쳐야겠구나.’

[43]“‘한스야.’ 밀러가 말했어. ‘네게 내 외바퀴 손수레를 주마. 상태가 아주 좋은 건 아니야. 실은 한쪽이 떨어져 나갔어. 바큇살에도 문제가 좀 있고. 그래도 네게 주마. 내가 상당히 인심히 후하잖니. 많은 이들이 내 후한 인심을 무척이나 어리석은 것으로 여기기는 하지만 말이야. 하지만 나는 다른 이들과 같지 않단다. 너그러움이야말로 우정의 정수라고 생각한단다. 게다가 새 외바퀴 손수레를 샀거든. 그러니 부담 갖지 말렴. 내 외바퀴 손수레를 주마.’

[43E] “‘한스야.’ 밀러가 말했어. ‘네게 내 외바퀴 손수레를 주마. 상태가 아주 좋은 건 아니야. 실은 한쪽이 떨어져 나갔어. 바큇살에도 문제가 좀 있고. 그래도 네게 주마. 내가 상당히 인심히 후하잖니. 많은 이들이 내 후한 인심을 무척이나 어리석은 것으로 여기기는 하지만 말이야. 하지만 나는 다른 이들과 같지 않단다. 너그러움이야말로 우정의 정수라고 생각한단다. 게다가 새 외바퀴 손수레를 샀거든. 그러니 부담 갖지 말렴. 내 외바퀴 손수레를 주마.’

[45E] “방앗간 친구가 말했어. ‘나무판자라니! 아, 헛간 지붕을 고치려고 마침 찾고 있었거든. 헛간 지붕에 큰 구멍이 났는데 막지 않으면 옥수수가 전부 축축해질 거야. 마침 잘 말했어! 좋은 행동이 또 다른 좋은 일을 낳는 건 정말 감탄할 만한 일이야. 내가 외바퀴 손수레를 줬으니, 이제는 너는 나한테 나무판자를 줘. 알다시피, 외바퀴 손수레가 나무판자보다 훨씬 비싸지만 진정한 우정은 그런 것들을 전혀 개의치 않지. 꾸물대지 말고 어서 가져와. 오늘 바로 헛간을 고쳐야겠어.’

[43E] “방앗간 친구가 말했어 ‘한스야. 내 외바퀴 손수레를 줄께. 상태가 아주 좋은 건 아니야. 실은 한쪽이 떨어져 나갔어. 바큇살에도 문제가 좀 있고. 아뭏든 네게 주마. 내가 상당히 인심히 후하잖니. 많은 사람들이 이렇게 주는 걸 무척이나 어리석은 일로 생각하겠지만 나는 다른 이들과는 다르지. 너그러움이야말로 우정의 정수라고 생각해. 게다가 새 외바퀴 손수레를 샀거든. 그러니 부담 갖지 말고 내 외바퀴 손수레를 받게.’

[59E]“무척 더운 날이었어. 길은 먼지투성이었고, 여섯 번째 이정표에 도달하기도 전에 한스는 너무 피곤해서 앉아서 쉬어야만 했어. 하지만 한스는 용감하게 계속 걸어갔고, 마침내 시장에 도착했지. 시장에서 어느 정도 기다린 다음, 밀가루 포대를 아주 좋은 값에 팔고 나서는, 곧장 집으로 돌아왔어. 너무 늦게까지 있다가는 강도를 만날까봐 겁이 났거든.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24