How to make Spicy Cucumber Salad 오이무침 /oi-muchim/

in #kr6 years ago

안녕하세요 여러분!

Hello everyone!

Today’s recipe is one of my favorite Korean side dishes – 오이무침 /oi-muchim/. I can't stress enough how much I love Korean foods, you guys. I think I have also mentioned that on my previous blog "How to make Kimchi (and capture that oppa's heart").

https://steemit.com/kimchi/@camzmaristel/how-to-make-kimchi-and-capture-that-oppa-s-heart

LLOX2194.JPG

오이 /o-i/ – means cucumber; and 무침 /mu-chim/ – means seasoned. The name of this spicy Korean salad literally translates to “seasoned cucumber”.

This salad is very easy to prepare, and perfect to match with BBQs or fried foods. It has sweet, nutty, salty and spicy flavors that ends with a refreshing crunch of the cucumber. It will make you want to eat more as you take that first bite.

I don’t want to keep you waiting so let’s get started. Here are the ingredients that you need.

Untitled collage.jpg

Ingredients
(good for 1-2 servings)

  1. Cucumber (small to medium size)
  2. Spring onions ( ½ cup chopped)
  3. Onion (½ medium size)
  4. Garlic (1 clove)
  5. Roasted sesame seeds (½ tsp.)
  6. Sesame oil (1 tsp.)
  7. Soy sauce (1 tbsp.)
  8. Korean red pepper powder (½ tbsp.)
    (Korean red pepper powder tastes different from the regular ones we're used to using. It has a milder taste, so I would recommend that you find this kind of red pepper powder. Their's have different levels of spiciness. The one that I am using is just medium spicy.)
  9. Sugar (½ tbsp.) (I'm only using brown sugar because I don't have any other sugar at home. You can use any kind of sugar you want)

Preparation:
(preparation time is 5-10 minutes)

  1. Slice the cucumber, spring onions and onion.
  2. Mince the garlic.
  3. Mix them all together (cucumber, spring onion, onion, garlic, sesame oil, soy sauce, red pepper powder, sugar).
  4. Sprinkle sesame seeds.
  5. Serve them in your favorite bowl or plate.

I hope you enjoy my recipe. I will continue posting recipes of my favorite foods. Tag me on your posts when you make your own version. Let me know if you have better recipes and I'll try them too.

To all my Korean friends, please forgive me "if" you think this dish shouldn't be prepared this way. Feel free to educate me :)

잘 먹겠습니다

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ 사랑해요! ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Sort:  

Im really getting interested on these korean dishes. Thanks to you. 😉

San pala ako makakabili ng Korean Red Pepper poweder dito sa AUH?

Thanks po :) .. sa mga chinese baqala.. (Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan St - Abu Dhabi)

https://goo.gl/maps/SarcvtAEGfL2

Oh, thanks. Mejo malayo sa amin yan. But iwill look around...

Please come back!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71