2018.07.14. Seoul Queer Culture Festival

in #kr6 years ago

Hi.

I have attended Seoul Queer Culture Festival last Saturday, and I would like to share a few photos

The parade was held at City hall of Seoul. I rode subway, line 2(green line), and got off at City hall station.

KakaoTalk_20180714_161545226.jpg

As I tried to come out of the station, I encountered huge crowd even before I went outside. Did not expect such a huge crowd would attend this festival. I actually was surprised.

DSC_0085.JPG

The square in front of the city hall. Again, the huge crowd mesmerized me. (Though I have to admit that the square itself is not especially huge, at least compare to enormous plazas, parks and squares of other parts of the world)

DSC_0089.JPG

Officers worked their butt off to ensure security and safety. I cannot imagine how toilsome it would be to work as a law enforcement/public safety agent on a Saturday of burning hot summer. Much respect.

DSC_0091.JPG
DSC_0100.JPG

But not everyone was happy. I came across some anti-LGBT right banners.
The one on the top says :

Heaven and Hell: Search on Youtube.

The one on the bottom says:

"When a man marry another man,
When a woman marry another woman,
This country will not have any off-springs
Therefore, we oppose homosexuality
Save the republic of Korea
We strongly oppose homosexuality"

DSC_0090.JPG

"You must believe in Jesus to go to heaven"

DSC_0099.JPG

Took a photo of banner.

DSC_0108.JPG

DSC_0113.JPG

Took photos after I entered the main entrance. On stage were performances, some emotional speeches, and some videos sent by LGBT right supporters and activists from other countries.

DSC_0110.JPG

"Seoul Human Rights Film Festival"

DSC_0128.JPG

"Parents of LGBT"

DSC_0121.JPG

DSC_0135.JPG

Artwork

Although I tried to take portraits of people who participated in the festival, I could not. This was largely due to their portrait right, and South Korea's law pertaining to it. ( in other words, I was not sure if it is legal to take photos of people. I was not part of the press)

Thank you very much for reading my post. Don't forget to vote!

Sort:  

Hi your post has been upvoted by vis4, the LGBT+ curation bot! Come and visit us on Discord

lgbtbannerdirty0.png
Delegate to @vis4 via SteemConnect:10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

Congratulations @shinh11! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @shinh11! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63175.14
ETH 3047.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63