Real or fake account?

in #kryptonia6 years ago (edited)

As many of you know fake accounts are increasing. Especially if a person feels like they can get ahead of everyone. I think we can all pretty much agree that it becomes annoying. The hard part is determining a fake account from a real account and thats the  point of this article. What indicators do you use to determine a fake account. Do you even know when you see a fake account? Leave a comment with your opinion and lets start a discussion about this topic. 


#kryptonia

Sort:  

On Facebook if there is no profile picture this sounds warning bells for me. Also if the are only a few posts and months apart.

I have a profile picture on my Facebook account but it's my hand only. If someone wants to know my face they need to see the old one haha.

-krypt ID @josephlacsamana same as my ID here.

thats a good guideline.

Look at the content, who they follow, and how they post. Sometimes people have shadow accounts that are not fake, but leave out information.

yeah thats the hard part.

In my opinion, before accepting friend request or sending request to a person, you should know the latest activity,how old the account is and check his friend list too.

Not all account that have no picture is a fake account.

yeah i think its hard because some just want privacy.

Here in steemit I always see the blog and articles that account is posting in that way I can determine if the account is fake, in facebook I always check first the profile picture, timeline and number of friends :)
kryptonia Id is marylizacaindoy :)

thats a good and simple system!

I honestly don't know how to determine which one is fake account here on steemit. 😥
Kryptonia id @wilsonblue5

yeah with steemit i think its a little more tricky but for me if it seems like a copy and paste job it is probably fake account.

Also if a profile has just been created recently with hardly any friends/followers and no mutual friends I just reject it.

i think thats tricky because some people try to create a profile for friends and family and another for social life.

i really like this idea. i didnt think of it.

I agree with @sydesjokes. If there is no photo, I'm immediately suspicious. If upon further investigation, I find no personal posts but only sharing or resteeming of other posts, I avoid further contact.

If someone is at all pushy I block them immediately.

I am the same way.

I can hardly tell if the account is fake. Some people can steal pictures from the net. Read, upvoted, commented and resteemed by rubelynmacion of krypto

i think it takes some practice and experience.

Check on Facebook and Twitter accounts before moving forward to accept. Will only perform a check if people have a profile picture.

No profile setup, if your are not interested in being online by not filling in a profile correctly, why should I waste my time hunting your down?

Both Facebook and Twitter, if you don't have any connection to me, why ask for friendship, always see who is friends with whom before accepting.

Being cautious and checking does not mean the odd one will slip through be vigilant to posts on your timeline, cut the person off by blocking them if they really do not show any interest in what you do, or post offensive content you do not approve of immediately, it is a reflection on you as to what goes onto your timeline.

i agree thats a good system.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56