Life in the Slow Lane, in a Suburb of the Jungle … Borneo, Malaysia – Landscape Photography

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

This secluded house on the fringe of the jungle is home to a white-collar worker who commutes each day to his job in the nearby city.

[Right-Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

Life in the slow lane 

I stayed for a week on the coast of Borneo, at a little resort just a 10-minute walk from the quiet village of Santubong.  

One afternoon, while I was exploring the village, a bright red car came rolling down this road. A man pulled up in the late-model car and parked it under this house – right beside another late-model car. As he got out of his car, we greeted each other and started chatting.  

Grow up, move on, come home 

He had grown up in Santubong, but had gone to university and was now employed in the nearby city of Kuching.  

He told me that life in the town of Santubong was bliss. From this home, it's only a 20-minute ride into the city, so they have most of the conveniences of urban life, without the stress. And it’s the perfect place for he and his wife to raise their children. 

(Another view of his home)   [Right-Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

And as @christinaa stated in her wise comment below, "that road is like a lifeline, not an annoyance."

While most of the residents of Santubong are clearly a bit lower on the socio-economic spectrum than he was, he asserted that they were not poor, and assured me that most of them did not feel poor. They have decent homes, sufficient food, a school and a mosque nearby, and a vibrant community of family and friends.  

Sounds quite civilized to me.
Location – Santubong, Borneo, on Google Maps

This is my entry in @juliank’s Landscape Photography contest.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-22T11:23:39
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 648.51/800.00
Total Photos: 79
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.36 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I took my time to read and reread the words in this superb entry. And I am forced to reach the conclusion that worldview plays a key role in determining satisfaction. This is, perhaps, why relative poverty is an important topic in the Sociology of Development.

As for your shot, I love how the tree on the left and the rising mountain behind bring
splendour to the picture. I assume you caught them intentionally to make a fine point. Good job sir.

Truly, worldview and perspective can make a major difference. As can community. If one is in a community that fosters a community spirit and a sustainable lifestyle, then that's what it will get.

While poverty is a issue in these developing countries, I've found that, for the most part, people have enough to get by. And many of them are more content and happy than those in developed societies.


As for the photo compositions, you're right -- it's mostly intentional. Almost all the elements in all my photos are there because I decided to included them in the composition. And if something is not there, it's because I've intentionally left it out. (Such as people, as you noted in a previous comment.)

Note – Sometimes, of course, I just cannot change the scene. In the case of the above photo, you'll notice some electrical wires running across the top. I would have liked to keep the wires out, but I would have had to change the perspective. As it is, this "best shot" inevitably had to include those power lines.

While poverty is an issue in these developing countries, I've found that, for the most part, people have enough to get by. And many of them are more content and happy than those in developed societies.

In short, the point you made above was the summary of my Anthropology class when we looked at some of the cultures of the world. In fact, we discovered that the Hopi people have a different cosmology about time and other things. You may check them out here:
http://www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Hopi

As for your photos, I may not be a photographer yet but I am really learning a lot. Thanks for the good works.

Regards.

Thanks for that link. The Hopi are a well-known for maintaining their traditions and culture, but I don't know a lot about them. I'll be glad to read thru that post.

I know one word of the Hopi language ... It means "Life out of Ballance," but I'm not sure how to spell it. "Koyaanisqaatsi," I think. Lemme check.

I had an extra "a". It's "Koyaanisqatsi"

Glad you're learning from my photos.

One tip you might have realized. For me, there are 2 important elements.
COMPOSITION and FRAMING.

They're easy to learn. When you look at the image, before clicking the photo, just ask yourself, "DOES THIS LOOK GOOD?" If the answer is no, just move the camera a bit and look for a better perspective.

With practice, you'll improve.

Thanks for sharing this video and the vital tips for capturing good photographs. I have already started taking some shots which I may soon start entering for the photo contests. I just do not like the fact that I would have to be posting photos regularly. I fear the challenge, considering that I may not have the time.

Regards.

I LOVE this house and its setting.

I walked away from there imagining how peaceful it would be to live there ...

A great place for a quiet and peaceful life. Good luck to you and Love.

Отличное место для тихой и спокойной жизни. Удачи Вам и Любви.

A lot of greenery and a mountain can be seen at the behind. It looks and seems a really nice place to stay. How amazing living that person living there would have. I am sure his life is very calmful and pleasant.

There is always a place that we called home.

And he has a beautiful house in a peaceful environment.

Yes, I've traveled in many places, but it's not often that I see a home as wonderful as this one.

the one who live there is already in heaven
surrounding with such a greenery
life will be just too much beautiful
and obviously good atmosphere for health
bdw that is a great capture

The house is like a holiday resort..!

A view of the mountain from window with that calm tiny road beside..! A place sorrounded by green heaven..! 🌾🌴

~ Christina

Definitely. And that family does not have to worry about any heavy traffic on that road, nor any of the noise and danger that comes with heavy traffic.

yah.. that road is like a lifeline, not a piece of annoyance..!

Perfect phrase!! I should have used that in my post ... but now it's yours!

Thanks for adding to and enhancing my text.

hehe... U can use that too..! :)

Woohoo! I edited it, and included your great phrase. (See new sentence under 2nd photo.)

Thanks, again!

wew..! didnt think u would include that in post..!!!!
many thanks for the surprise..! I feel honored, really..! :)

I just can't believe on the greenery this place has,

The more greenery you have, the fresher will be the atmosphere.
Very beautiful, clean and best place to live on.

they have most of the conveniences of urban life, without the stress

this is the best thing.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61209.23
ETH 2940.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73