3 New Donner Lake Sunset Photos - Which Is Your Favorite?

A couple of days ago, I posted a fun but "scary" video where I had to walk through old abandoned train tunnels in order to get to an incredible view of Donner Lake in Truckee, California. It was worth the walk through the creepy old tunnels as this view was my reward. At sunset, there was a little bit of smoke in the air mixed with some nice clouds, the combination made for some incredible color. The "cherry on top" was a patch of fall colors for a foreground that I had found.

I wanted to post the photos separately of the video so you can click on them and view them large in order to see the detail better than 480p video. All three of these "keeper" photos make me happy, but I'm curious...

Which of these 3 photos is your favorite?


click images to view large
_Q1A3817.jpg #1 The wide angle, the lens was set at 16mm.

_Q1A3821.jpg #2 A bit tighter of a composition, the lens was set at 28mm.

_Q1A3820.jpg #3 The vertical, for any publications that want a cover shot... The lens was set at 22mm.

All three of these photos were shot with a Canon 5DS R and a 16-35mm lens. A tripod and shutter release cable were used. Two graduated neutral density filters and a polarizing filter were used on the front of the lens. The exposure time for each shot was 30 seconds and the aperture was f16. The ISO was 50 for the first shot, and 100 for the second two shots.

If you missed the video, please check it out HERE. It's a big one that was a lot of fun to make.




Thank you for looking, watching, and reading!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

left.gifscottshots.gif



Sort:  

Nice, thank you for letting me know @serkagan! I always appreciate your input.

I'm going with #1. It's got an overview feel. Could very well be a postcard.

Thank you @enforcer48! A postcard of that one sounds cool...

Tough decision. Can’t decide between #1 and #3!

Glad you at least like one of them, but two is even better, thank you!

Hard one to pick Scott, but I think I like the first one more. The trees going down the valley with the lake on the botton the the mountains, it gives a gimpse of how vast that place must be.

Thank you for letting me know your favorite @mrprofessor! Yeah, I like those wide angle shots for showing the big views around here.

Have fun in Krakow! Looking forward to seeing watching your journey. I have a funny feeling that you will be able to figure out a way to get into steemfest...

Hhah, not luck until now, but I'm managing to meet a lot of the guys around. Now I just need my body to recover so I can start cycling again.

Bummer, but at least you are getting to meet some steemians. Have a great bike ride!

I like the third picture most, the vertical. Then the second photo and least of all I like the first picture, because the two trees on the left are somehow a bit distracting to me.

Thank you for your answer @johannpiber! Interesting about the two trees on the left in the first shot. I wasn't sure if I liked them either but I wanted to get the wide angle with more clouds showing. Unfortunately, I could not move my shooting location or I would not have had that cool fall color foreground. Thanks again for your feedback, cheers!

The left one of those trees might not be that bad, but the one in the middle disturbs me most. Have a nice evening/day.

Maybe I'll bring an axe out there next year... ;)
Thank you, you too!

They look quite dry - all you need is a strong kick with your foot ;)

Haha! You're probably correct...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01