Star Sticks

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

Shortly before heading to Oregon I did a post on Oregon Trees and at the end of it I mentioned how my nephew introduced me to Star Sticks. Last week we (my nephew and I) went back to the same park and found some more Star Sticks. They are soooo cool!

Optional Text

Below is a little tutorial on finding star sticks. From what I can find online, the star sticks are found in the twigs of Cottonwood trees.

First, you find a Cottonwood Tree.
Identifying a Cottonwood Tree
The park we went to had many different trees. So it was important to figure out which was a Cottonwood tree.
Optional Text
I found the easiest ways to find a cottonwood tree is by finding a leaf or twig, by the base of the trunk.

The leaves of a cottonwood are similar to a spade in a deck of cards and are 3-4 inches long and green in color.
Optional Text

The twigs are long and skiny and have knots every so often
Optional Text

A couple other things that can help you identify a cottonwood tree are:

The branches and leaves are very high.
Optional Text

The trees are very tall (can grow up to 200 feet high) and have a great shade canopy.
Optional Text

The bark is thin and smooth on young trees.
Optional Text

Now, that you have identified the cottonwood tree and found the twigs, you can find the stars.

Optional Text
In the twig there are seams, this is where you break the twig and find the stars.

Note: The twigs need to be not too green or too brown, but just right.
Optional Text

Some twigs can give you many stars!
Optional Text

Let me know if you find some star sticks!

Sort:  

that sounds like a really fun thing to do with the grandchildren @sjarvie5. First I need to go and check if we have cottonwood trees in the UK. I've never heard anyone mention them. 😊

Hi Gillian. In my research I found out that there are lots of different kinds of Cottonwoods and they are in North America, Asia and Europe. Hope you can find one. The grand kids would love it.

Those sticks are soooo cool!

Agreed. It is so fun to see the surprise inside

We have cottonwoods around here so I'll be looking for the stars next time I'm around one...

Scott, yes let me know when you do!

Hey, that's pretty neat! I'm going to look out for that next time - I never noticed the stars before. :D

Hi Derek, Yes I am sure you will come across some beautiful Cottonwoods on your travels. Let me know when you find a star stick. How is your new place and job?

Thank you for your contribution to the Photocircle tag!

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

If you would like to stop receiving comments then reply!STOP!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-11T01:35:12
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 171.15/200.00
Total Photos: 28
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.83 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hello @sjarvie5, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98