Hiking Spencer Butte in Eugene, Oregon

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

Eugene's Best Hike
As a resident of Eugene, Oregon I'm extremely lucky to have this hike just 10 minutes from my house. Every day I can look out my back window and see this butte. Often times there is fog drifting through the trees gives the pine trees a signature Pacific Northwest look. But the day of this hike was particularly clear and sunny, which was a treat since January is in the middle of our rainy season. Eugene is actually considered a temperate rainforest, which means we usually have 6 months of solid rain from the end of fall to the middle of spring. The upshot of this is that most plants remain green all year which is especially nice when you hike through the woods leading up to Spencer Butte's summit.

Here's a quick preview of a view from the summit:

_MG_9410.jpg

The Ridgeline Trail
There are three hikes available to climb Spencer Butte, but my favorite is the Ridgeline Trail. This one takes about 2 hours and seems to be one of the less popular trails. I believe the reason for this is that the trailhead isn't well known and that the parking lot is pretty small. It is also slightly steeper than the main trail, although not as steep as the third trail. This makes for a nice middle of the road degree of difficulty compared to the two other trails.

IMG_9467.jpg

After you arrive at the Ridgeline parking lot you must cross the road to begin the trail. This can be a bit confusing as the start of the trail isn't immediately obvious after you arrive but if you walk north up the road just a bit you'll see the sign.

After a few minutes of hiking the tree cover envelops you and you're surrounded by moss covered trees and ferns. Walking through the lower section almost feels like walking through a scene in Jurassic Park.

_MG_9356.jpg

Here you can really see the affects of the constant rainfall in western Oregon. Everything is wet and growing. You'll also notice how quiet everything is. Due to the tall trees and the low undergrowth, there aren't many birds close to the ground. This gives the impression that most of the life along the trail is plant based.

About a third of the way through the hike the sun came out. This made for particularly nice moments. We turned a corner and started walking into the sun. The moss covered undergrowth was lit up by the sunlight casting beautiful shades of green light throughout the forest. Although it is difficult to take pictures directly facing the sun I did my best to capture what I saw.

_MG_9362.jpg

Most of the trail is just packed dirt but at some points there are wood or stone steps. Near the base of the butte most of the steps are wood and seem to just hold dirt in place, while near the summit the steepness requires steps carved out of the rock. The wood steps are sided with small logs which makes for some lovely leading line in photos.

IMG_9372.jpg

As I continued the hike the trail got steeper, particularly around the top. Looking off to the left or right you can use the trees as a gauge of how steep things are getting, which is a nice way to maintain perspective.

IMG_9370.jpg

Finally, I broke tree cover about four fifths of the way up. At this point the trail was pretty rocky and consist mostly of stone steps.

IMG_9385.jpg

The Summit

After about an hour and fifteen minutes of hiking we made it! There's a spectacular view in almost every direction so it's difficult to figure out where to look once you're on top of the butte, but its not a bad problem to have!

If you look due north you can see the city of Eugene:

IMG_9391.jpg

The view from the north west is equally pretty, especially with the rocks and trees in the foreground:

IMG_9437.jpg

But my favorite view is facing south west as you might have guessed form the thumbnail of this post:

_MG_9410.jpg

The Descent

After hanging out, chatting, and taking some more pictures at the summit, I began my descent. Took a few more pictures on the way down but by now you probably have the gist of the trail so I'll keep the explanations to a minimum.

This may help convey the height of the old trees which line the trail:

IMG_9441.jpg

There are quite a few felled trees along the way and if you're interested in the age of the trees heres picture where you can count the rings! I haven't done it so if you actually do please let me know in the comments!

IMG_9448.jpg

I almost forgot, but we actually saw a couple deer on the way down! While these aren't wildly exciting to see in some parts of the country, they are pretty uncommon in Oregon. Unfortunately, my flash turned on when I took this picture and scared off the deer.

IMG_9456.jpg

There was also a pretty gnarly overturned tree along the way.

IMG_9461.jpg

After about 45 minutes, we were back at the car. We drove home and as the sun set I took this picture of the butte we just hiked. As I mentioned at the beginning, I'm extremely lucky to live so close to such a nice hike.

_MG_9473.jpg

Thanks so much for reading!

If you have any questions about the hike or the area in general please let me know in the comments below!

Sort:  

There is nothing beautiful than nature

absolutely beautiful views...I have some similar pictures from years ago hiking in Montana...Here is my latest blog and check out the older onesCheck out some of my blogs and feel free to resteem and upvote!https://steemit.com/story/@corpdetoxbliss/does-the-human-emotion-worry-have-any-place-in-todays-world

Incredible Photography. I need to come out West and visit. Do you prefer the West Coast ?

Great stuff! I love hiking and climbing mountains. I spent a few weeks in Eugene for work. It's so green up there it's really beautiful. Drove my allergies crazy though. lol. While I was up there one of the guys at work was telling me about Spencer Butte. I really wanted to do the hike, but unfortunately I didn't have enough time. It looks like it has a spectacular view from the summit.

Yeah, allergy season can be brutal here, all the pollen likes to collect in the Willamette valley and just stay there for a while. But hey, if you ever make it back to Eugene the hike will be waiting for you!

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

This is a beautiful recap of the hike and you are indeed lucky to be able to live closeby! If I'm ever in Oregon, I'll make sure to come check it out too!

Ahh, you did a great job capturing the lushness of the PNW! So many hikes I've had those same feelings of awe but my cell phone could never do them justice. Looks like a lovely hike.

Thanks! It really does feel like a rainforest when you're below the tree line.

Oh man! We travel full time in an RV and we just loved Eugene! It was truly wonderful to see this gorgeous place again. When we stayed, we were able to stay at a mall that ran along the river. Wow...great memories of seeing people float down in tubes, running the trails...very alive and great vibe! Thanks for sharing!

No problem, I'm happy I could bring back some good memories! It really is a great place, especially for doing almost anything outside.

Wow, looks like an amazing and well kept trail!

I'll be going on an NOLS course this fall and I'm so excited to be back in the wilderness once again

Maybe do a series like this one of the other two trails?

Thats a great idea!

Its always great to get out there! Where are you doing your NOLS course?

Absolutely beautiful. I'm in Ontario, and frequent Algonquin Park, but would one day love to visit Oregon. I see so many beautiful shots of the outdoors there.

I definitely recommend it! The state is incredibly diverse in what types of nature you can see.

That place is awesome! Thank you for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.14
ETH 2915.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55